Rick Gekoski chairs 2011 Man Booker International Prize
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Signed Copies
Account Services

Rick Gekoski chairs 2011 Man Booker International Prize

5th March 2010

The judging panel for the 2011 Man Booker International Prize has been confirmed.

Writer, academic and rare-book dealer Dr Rick Gekoski will chair the group, which is completed by award-winning novelist Justin Cartwright and publisher, writer and critic Carmen Callil.

Fiammetta Rocco, administrator of the prize, commented: 'The three judges of the 2011 Man Booker International Prize are drawn from the world of letters around the globe. Between them they have a lifetime's experience as writers, editors, publishers, academics and scholars.'

The biennial Man Booker International Prize awards GBP 60,000 to a writer whose works have been published in the English language. The winner is selected directly by the panel, with no submissions accepted from publishers.

In 2009, it was taken by Alice Munro, while Chinua Achebe won in 2007 and Ismail Kadare scooped the inaugural prize in 2005.

Last year, former poet laureate Sir Andrew Motion was named as the chair of the panel for the 2010 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

Financial Times literary editor Rosie Blau, Royal Opera House creative director Deborah Bull, author Tom Sutcliffe and Frances Wilson, biographer and critic, are the other members of the panel.

© W&G Foyle Ltd