The Graveyard Book wins Booktrust Teenage Prize
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Signed Copies
Account Services

The Graveyard Book wins Booktrust Teenage Prize

19th November 2009

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman has won the Booktrust Teenage Prize 2009.

Gaiman received a trophy and a cheque for GBP 2,500 at a lunchtime ceremony in London yesterday (November 18th).

Accepting the award, the author said that his success is due to all the writers who inspired The Graveyard Book, including Rudyard Kipling and Pamela L Travers.

'The field of children's literature has seen many giants and those of us who toil in the field make our contributions using what we've learned from those who came first,' he explained.

Other works on the 2009 shortlist included Auslander by Paul Dowswell, Jenny Valentine's The Ant Colony, The Vanishing of Katharina Linden by Helen Grant, Keith Gray's Ostrich Boys and The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness.

Judi James, chair of the judges, said that the six shortlisted titles all featured an 'exceptional quality of writing and storytelling'.

Earlier this month, Stinking Rich and Just Plain Stinky by Philip Ardagh and Sam Lloyd's Mr Pusskins Best in Show were named the winners of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize.

© W&G Foyle Ltd