TV Book Club shortlist unveiled
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
Signed Copies
Account Services

TV Book Club shortlist unveiled

5th January 2012

The books that will feature in the new series of Amanda Ross' TV Book Club have been revealed, with a 2011 Man Booker Prize contender and Galaxy National Book Award winner among the ten shortlisted titles.

Beginning on January 29th, each episode of The TV Book Club will see a panel of literary experts and TV personalities analyse a different title each week, with an overall Best Read crowned at the end of the series.

The chosen titles include S. J. Watson's Before I Go To Sleep, which won a Crime Writers Association Dagger and Galaxy National Book Award in 2011, and Patrick DeWitt's The Sisters Brothers, which was shortlisted for the 2011 Man Booker Prize.

Kevin Wilson's New York Times bestseller The Family Fang and Jessica Francis Kane's debut novel The Report are also included, alongside another first literary work – Essie Fox's The Somnambulist.

Into The Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes, Amor Towles' Rules of Civility, Girl Reading by Katie Ward and Alexander Maksik's You Deserve Nothing are four further debut works on the shortlist, which is completed by former Booker Prize judge Anthony Quinn's Half of the Human Race.

Ross, who created the Richard and Judy Book Club and also helps to organise the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards and the Galaxy British Book Awards, said the list comprises ten bona fide page-turners that are each very different in tone and style.

'Their common factor is that they are all really great reads and the viewers will be torn when the time comes for them to vote for their favourite to win the accolade Best Read at the end of the series,' she added.

This year's TV Book Club features a twist on the traditional format, with readers encouraged to send in their own reviews after each episode and these contributing to the decision to award the overall Best Read at the end of the series.

© W&G Foyle Ltd