Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Your Shopping Basket
A Year of Books
Account Services
Student Discount

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

When Mary Lee Settle won the 1978 National Book Award for her novel Blood Tie, she invited to join the judging panel for the subsequent year. 1979 proved to be controversial: the judges awarded the prize to Tim O'Brien's Going after Cacciato, not the overwhelming favourite (and already a bestseller) The World according to Garp by John Irving.

The reaction of the New York-based based publishing industry at the relative obscurity of their judges' choice was to withdraw its support for the National Book Award and to switch their back for a new award founded by Mary Lee Settle.

Affiliated with International PEN, the worldwide association of writers set up to promote freedom of speech, the PEN/Faulkner Award was named in tribute William Faulkner, who had donated his 1949 Nobel Prize money to fund awards for younger writers and whose writing has been particularly inspirational for Settle. The responsibility of judging was given to a large pool of writers, rather than the industry insiders who tended to be on the panels for other major awards.

Both novels and short story collections are eligible. The shortlist of five books is announced in January, with the winner declared in March. Later in the year, all five authors are also invited to read at a ceremony held at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC.

This year's winner was Joan Silber for her novel Improvement.


2018 Shortlist

In the Distance
Hernan Diaz
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12 noon tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

The Tower Of The Antilles
Achy Obejas
The Cubans in Achy Obejas's story collection are haunted by islands: the island they fled, the island they've created, the island they were taken to or forced from, the island...
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12 noon tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.


Stores - out of stock

Sing, Unburied, Sing
Jesmyn Ward
LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2018 An intimate portrait of a family and an epic tale of hope and struggle, Sing, Unburied, Sing examines the ugly truths at...
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12 noon tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.

The Dark Dark
Samantha Hunt
Short stories collection from the author of The Invention of Everything Else.
Click & Collect:

Order now to collect from 12 noon tomorrow. In stock items only. Click for more info.


Previous winners

2017 Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue

2016 Delicious Foods by James Hannaham (not currently in print in the UK

2015 Preparation for the Next Life by Atticus Lish

2014 We Are Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

2013 Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

2012 The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka
2011 The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg by Deborah Eisenberg
2010 War Dances by Sherman Alexie
2009 Netherland by Joseph O'Neill
2008 The Great Man by Kate Christensen
2007 Everyman by Philip Roth
2006 The March by EL Doctorow
2005 War Trash by Ha Jin
2004 The Early Stories: 1953-1974 by John Updike
2003 The Caprices by Sabina Murray (currently out of print in the UK)
2002 Bel Canto by Ann Patchett
2001 The Human Stain by Philip Roth
2000 Waiting by Ha Jin
1999 The Hours by Michael Cunningham
1998 The Bear Comes Home by Rafi Zabor (currently out of print in the UK)
1997 Women in their Beds by Gina Berriault (currently out of print in the UK)
1996 Independence Day by Richard Ford
1995 Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson
1994 Operation Shylock by Philip Roth
1993 Postcards by Annie Proulx
1992 Mao II by Don DeLillo
1991 Philadelphia Fore by John Wiseman
1990 Billy Bathgate by EL Doctorow
1989 Dusk and Other Stories by James Salter
1988 World's End by T Coraghessan Boyle
1987 Soldiers in Hiding by Richard Wiley
1986 The Old Forest by Peter Taylor (currently out of print in the UK)
1985 The Barracks Thief by Tobias Wolff (currently out of print in the UK)
1984 Sent for You Yesterday by John Edgar Wideman (currently out of print in the UK)
1983 Seaview by Toby Olson
1982 The Chaneysville Incident by David Bradley (currently out of print in the UK)
1981 How German is It by Walter Abish (currently out of print in the UK)


© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close