Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Anti-Social: The secret diary of an anti-social behaviour officer
Foyalty 51

Anti-Social: The secret diary of an anti-social behaviour officer (Hardback)

£16.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

AS SEEN ON BBC BREAKFAST AND ITV'S LORRAINE

__________________________________

'Superb. This hysterically funny and moving memoir of an anti-social behaviour officer is a real eye-opener that hits all the right notes' FRANKIE BOYLE



'Laugh-out-loud funny. The delivery is punchy and the humour dark - think Irvine Welsh minus the Scottish vernacular' EXPRESS

__________________________________

Has your life become unbearable because the person living above you has a fondness for crack cocaine, the company of strangers and dance music? Or maybe you're a social worker, mental health nurse, police officer, firefighter, dog warden or vicar and you've been landed with someone who's a pain in the arse. Who are you going to call? That would be me: an anti-social behaviour officer.



Anti-Social is the diary of a council worker whose job is to keep his community happy, or at least away from each other's throats. That's hard enough at the best of times but when government cuts mean that hospitals, social services and police are all at breaking point, the possibility of complete chaos is never far away.



This is an urgent, timely but, most of all, hysterically funny true story of a life spent working with the people society wants to forget and the problems that nobody else can resolve. This book will make you laugh, cry and boil with rage within a single sentence.

__________________________________

Perfect for fans of The Secret Barrister and Adam Kay's This is Going to Hurt.

__________________________________

'I absolutely loved it. It reads like a novel, has that page-turning quality everyone looks for in a good book but it delivers the punch that only true life can - funny obviously but with humanity and warmth for people at the edges of society most in need of our understanding and compassion' KIT DE WAAL, author of My Name Is Leon



'Brilliant. This deserves to be a huge success - funny, sad and heartbreaking' LORRAINE KELLY



'Get this book. ... I'm telling you now, you will absolutely love this guy, what he has to say and the book that he has written. In equal parts devastating and dark and incredibly funny.' NIHAL ARTHANAYAKE



'Darkly comic ... think Adam Kay's This is Going to Hurt but with more dead bodies (and not just human ones) and an abundance of cat shit. It's a gloriously cynical read but it's also sympathetic and deeply empathetic.' KATHY BURKE



'Riveting and brilliantly written... a potent cocktail of heartbreak and horror; wickedly funny, wearily endearing and absolutely enraging' CAROLINE SANDERSON, Bookseller



'Extraordinary, fascinating, very moving and very funny' CHRISTINE LAMPARD



'A funny, thoughtful look into one of the toughest jobs I can imagine' SHAPPI KORSANDI

BiographyMemoirsEssays & WritingEssays & JournalismHumourPhilosophy, Psychology & Social SciencesSocial issues & processes Publisher: Cornerstone Publication Date: 23/07/2020 ISBN-13: 9781529124774  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Nick Pettigrew was an Anti-Social Behaviour Officer for over a decade. From bothersome neighbours with a fondness for crack cocaine and loud dance music to those being racially abused every day, Nick's job involved keeping the community happy. Or at least away from each other's throats. He has a background in comedy and was was a standup comedian for several years, taking two successful shows to Edinburgh Festival Fringe. His comedy writing has been published by Shortlist and The Telegraph. He was a regular writer for The Daily Mash for over eight years.

More books by Nick Pettigrew

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £20 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.75 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Click and Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop
Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Proudly She Served: Women's Roles in...
(Hardback)
Tracey-Ann Knight
 
 
£20.00
 
Borges and Me: An Encounter
(Hardback)
Jay Parini
 
 
£14.99
 
Wild Hope
(Hardback)
Marisa Bate
 
 
£16.99
 
Wild Hope
(Paperback)
Marisa Bate
 
 
£14.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close