Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Flash Crash: A Trading Savant, a Global Manhunt and the Most Mysterious Market Crash in History
Foyalty 54

Flash Crash: A Trading Savant, a Global Manhunt and the Most Mysterious Market Crash in History (Hardback)

£20.00
£17.99
10%
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

'The UK's pre-eminent chronicler of financial crime' New Yorker


'Not just a readable, pacey account of an extraordinary individual and his quixotic quest for money he didn't even spend, but also a troubling expose of the fragility of our entire financial system ... I loved it' Oliver Bullough, author of Moneyland


For fans of Bad Blood and Flash Boys, the story of a trading prodigy who amassed $70 million from his childhood bedroom-until the US government accused him of helping trigger an unprecedented market collapse.


On May 6, 2010, financial markets around the world tumbled simultaneously and without warning. In the span of five minutes, a trillion dollars of valuation was lost. The Flash Crash, as it became known, represented the fastest drop in market history. When share values rebounded less than half an hour later, experts around the globe were left perplexed. What had they just witnessed?


Navinder Singh Sarao hardly seemed like a man who would shake the world's financial markets to their core. Raised in a working-class neighbourhood in West London, Nav was a preternaturally gifted trader who played the markets like a computer game. By the age of thirty, he had left behind London's trading arcades, working instead out of his childhood home. For years the money poured in. But when lightning-fast electronic traders infiltrated markets and started eating into his profits, Nav built a system of his own to fight back. It worked-until 2015, when the FBI arrived at his door. Depending on whom you ask, Sarao was a scourge, a symbol of a financial system run horribly amok, or a folk hero-an outsider who took on the tyranny of Wall Street and the high-frequency traders.


A real-life financial thriller, Flash Crash uncovers the remarkable, behind-the-scenes narrative of a mystifying market crash, a globe-spanning investigation into international fraud, and the man at the centre of them both.



BiographyTrue storiesTrue crimeBusinessFinance & accountingFinanceCorporate finance Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Publication Date: 14/05/2020 ISBN-13: 9780008270391  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Liam Vaughan is an award-winning investigative journalist and author with Bloomberg and Businessweek magazine.

More books by Liam Vaughan

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £20 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.75 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Click and Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop
Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Pitch Perfect: Raising Capital for...
(Paperback)
Haje Jan Kamps
 
 
£24.99
 
Cases In Financial Management:...
(Hardback)
Ivan E Brick; Harvey A Poniachek
 
 
£150.00
 
Global Goliaths: Multinational...
(Paperback)
C. Fritz Foley; James Hines; David...
 
 
£34.50
 
Valuation And Financial Forecasting: ...
(Hardback)
Ben Sopranzetti; Braun C Kiess
 
 
£105.00
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close