Seeing: A Memoir of Truth and Courage from China's Most Influential Television Journalist - Chai Jing; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Seeing: A Memoir of Truth and Courage from China's Most Influential Television Journalist
Foyalty 75

Seeing: A Memoir of Truth and Courage from China's Most Influential Television Journalist (Hardback)

£25.00
Pre-order for despatch on publication.

Synopsis

In the tradition of Katy Tur, Jane Pauley, and Peter Jennings, Chai Jing shows us the power of television news and the complex challenges of reporting in China.



After garnering an intimate cult following as a late-night college radio DJ, Chai Jing is thrust into the spotlight when she is offered a position as a news anchor at CCTV, China's official state news channel. She struggles to find her footing while discovering corruption, courage, and hope within the people she meets.



Through an immediate and deeply personal narrative, Chai tells the stories of SARS quarantine wards, a teenage suicide cult, domestic violence, the consequences of industrial pollution, and workplace sexism, while examining her growth as a journalist. At times doubting her abilities and fighting through the challenges of a male-dominated workplace, Chai Jing returns time and again to the extraordinary stories of her interviewees, committed to sharing their voices.



This candid memoir about overcoming government obstacles and finding success provides a rare window into how China has faced challenges like pollution, climate change, and unfair standards for women in the public eye.

BiographyBiography: generalAutobiography: generalBiographyMemoirs Publisher: Astra Publishing House Publication Date: 16/08/2022 ISBN-13: 9781662600678  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Pre-order for despatch on publication. Pre-Order

Born in 1976, Chai Jing is an award-winning reporter and television host in China. While working at CCTV from 2001, she gained recognition covering the SARS epidemic in 2003. She has reported on domestic violence in China, contributing to the anti-domestic violence law in 2005, the same year LGBT+ people appeared in an interview, titled "In the Name of Life." In 2007, she won the National Green People Award for her coverage of pollution in her hometown. Seeing has sold over 5 million copies since its Chinese publication in 2012. In 2015, she was named one of Time magazine's 100 most influential people, and one of the top 100 global thinkers by Foreign Policy.

More books by Chai Jing

Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Free
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Without Ever Reaching the Summit: A...
(Paperback)
Paolo Cognetti; Stash Luczkiw
 
 
£8.99
 
Albert Roux memoir
(Hardback)
Albert Roux
 
 
£20.00
 
The Catch Me If You Can: One Woman's...
(Hardback)
Jessica Nabongo
 
 
£25.00
 
Civil Disobedience: How to Win in...
(Hardback)
Karen Civil
 
 
£23.95
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd