Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook
Foyalty 51

The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook (Hardback)

£16.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£16.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
Check Stock

Foyles Notes

Established science writer Brooks takes a bit of a quantum leap (sorry) with this cracking life of 16th-century polymath and pioneer of probability theory Jerome Cardano — whose work set precedents for all sorts of things, including quantum mechanics. Brooks himself appears as a character in the book, conferring with Cardano across time through the visions that beset the man — which, as he explains the theory behind quantum science, isn't as inconceivable as you might think.

Gavin, Marketing Team

Synopsis

A book of science like no other, about a scientist like no other. This is a landmark in science writing. It resurrects from the vaults of neglect the polymath Jerome Cardano, a Milanese of the sixteenth century. Who is he? A gambler and blasphemer, inventor and chancer, plagued by demons and anxieties, astrologer to kings, emperors and popes. This stubborn and unworldly man was the son of a lawyer and a brothel keeper, but also a gifted physician and the unacknowledged discoverer of the mathematical foundations of quantum physics. That is the argument of this charming and intoxicatingly clever book, which is truly original in its style, and in the manner of the modernists embodies in its very form its theories about the world. The Quantum Astrologer's Handbook is a science book with the panache of a novel, for readers of Carlo Rovelli or Umberto Eco. It is a work of and about genius.



Michael Brooks, who holds a PhD in quantum physics, is an author, journalist, and broadcaster. A consultant at New Scientist, he also writes regularly for New Statesman. Brooks is the author of At The Edge of Uncertainty, The Secret Anarchy of Science, and the bestselling non-fiction title 13 Things That Don't Make Sense. His writing has appeared in The Guardian, The Independent, The Observer, THE, The Philadelphia Inquirer, and many magazines. He has lectured at, amongst others, NYU, the American Museum of Natural History, and the University of Cambridge.

More books by Michael Brooks

Leave Review

Staff Choice

Established science writer Brooks takes a bit of a quantum leap (sorry) with this cracking life of 16th-century polymath and pioneer of probability theory Jerome Cardano — whose work set precedents for all sorts of things, including quantum mechanics. Brooks himself appears as a character in the book, conferring with Cardano across time through the visions that beset the man — which, as he explains the theory behind quantum science, isn't as inconceivable as you might think.Established science writer Brooks takes a bit of a quantum leap (sorry) with this cracking life of 16th-century polymath and pioneer of probability theory Jerome Cardano — whose work set precedents for all sorts of things, including quantum mechanics. Brooks himself appears as a character in the book, conferring with Cardano across time through the visions that beset the man — which, as he explains the theory behind quantum science, isn't as inconceivable as you might think.Established science writer Brooks takes a bit of a quantum leap (sorry) with this cracking life of 16th-century polymath and pioneer of probability theory Jerome Cardano — whose work set precedents for all sorts of things, including quantum mechanics. Brooks himself appears as a character in the book, conferring with Cardano across time through the visions that beset the man — which, as he explains the theory behind quantum science, isn't as inconceivable as you might think.

 

Gavin, Marketing Team.

Charing Cross Rd Bookshop - 27/06/2018

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Charles Darwin: Victorian Mythmaker
(Hardback)
A. N. Wilson
 
 
£25.00
 
Thomas Cochrane and the Dragon ...
(Paperback)
Andrew E. Adam
 
 
£10.99
 
A Well-Ordered Thing: Dmitrii...
(Paperback)
Michael D. Gordin
 
 
£26.00
 
Hawking
(Hardback)
Joel Levy
 
 
£20.00
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close