Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
A Kind of Spark
Foyalty 21

A Kind of Spark (Paperback)

£6.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

A KIND OF SPARK tells the story of 11-year-old Addie as she campaigns for a memorial in memory of the witch trials that took place in her Scottish hometown. Addie knows there's more to the story of these 'witches', just like there is more to hers. Can Addie challenge how the people in her town see her, and her autism, and make her voice heard?



A story about friendship, courage and self-belief, perfect for fans of The Goldfish Boy.



"Definitive and funny" Susin Nielsen



"A fabulous, brilliant debut" Lisa Thompson

Children'sFiction & true storiesFamily & home storiesChildren'sPersonal & social issuesDisability & special needs Publisher: Knights Of Media Publication Date: 04/06/2020 ISBN-13: 9781913311056  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Elle McNicoll is a debut children's author from Scotland, now living in East London. As a neurodivergent writer, she is passionate about disability rights and representation and assists as a mentor for neurodivergent students at UCL. When she isn't writing fiction, she works as an editor and in her spare time, makes colourful chokers for friends to wear. A Kind of Spark is her first novel.

More books by Elle McNicoll

Customer Reviews

Okay so I have to tell you about A Kind of Spark by ⁠Elle McNicoll which is one of the best novels and representations of autistic people I have ever read. The story follows Addie, a young autistic girl, who campaigns for a memorial to the witch trials in her village.⁠ ⁠ Addie does this because in the story of the witches she recognises the persecution of difference that autistic people face, and she wants people to see and to listen and to remember. It’s a story of demanding to be seen.⁠ ⁠ Rare for most books, this book features more than one autistic character, and the tender relationship between Addie and her older sister Keedie is so touching. There is a sweet moment between them that made me cry so much I alarmed my dog. “Other people’s minds are small. Your mind is enormous. It has room for everything and everyone. You don’t want to be like other people.” How many of us have needed to hear that in our lives?⁠ ⁠ Alongside Addie’s campaign the book deals with ableist bullying from both adults & children, masking and it’s toll, and even highlights the darkest moments — the institutionalisation of autistic people.⁠ ⁠ But also it’s just a truly great story. It’s about difference and asking for space and the joy of being seen. It’s about family who love and support each other. It’s about history and recognition. I cried so many times for so many reasons.⁠ ⁠ One of the main reasons was knowing how much this book is just going to matter to autistic people. The novel is aimed for 9-12 year olds but I urge autistics of all ages to seek it out in June when it comes out. I feel like I’ve been seen and known, and told it will be ok.⁠

- 04/06/2020
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £20 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.75 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Click and Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop
Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Clean Getaway
(Paperback)
Nic Stone
 
 
£6.99
 
The Goldfish Boy
(Paperback)
Lisa Thompson
 
£6.99
 
Mic Drop
(Paperback)
Sharna Jackson
 
 
£6.99
 
Return to Roar
(Paperback)
Jenny McLachlan; Ben Mantle
 
 
£6.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close