Bad Things Happen Here: this summer's hottest thriller - Rebecca Barrow; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Bad Things Happen Here: this summer's hottest thriller
Foyalty 24

Bad Things Happen Here: this summer's hottest thriller (Paperback)

£7.99
UK delivery within 5 days

Synopsis

With compelling characters, broken friendships and complicated romances, BAD THINGS HAPPEN HERE is a gripping murder mystery full of dark truths, lethal betrayals, and poisonous secrets.



Paradise can be deadly ...



Luca Laine Thomas lives in Parris, a beautiful island plagued by the unsolved deaths of young women - most significantly, Luca's best friend. All Luca wants is to heal from the traumatic loss and leave her feelings of guilt and helplessness behind.



Then Luca comes home to find police cars in her driveway. Her sister, Whitney, is dead.



Luca and Naomi, the new girl next door, decide to take the investigation into their own hands, and along the way their connection deepens. Soon, their casual touches and innocent flirtations become something way more real. But finding out what happened on the night of Whitney's disappearance reveals lie upon lie.



Nothing is as it seems. Will Luca's search finally reveal the truth about her sister's murder?



Perfect for fans of WE WERE LIARS, ONE OF US IS LYING, ACE OF SPADES, and ASKING FOR IT.

Rebecca Barrow is the critically acclaimed author of the Interview with The Vixen, This Is What It Feels Like, and You Don't Know Me But I Know You. Bad Things Happen Here is her UK debut. She is a lover of sunshine, Old Hollywood icons, and all things high femme. She lives and writes in England. Visit her at rebecca-barrow.com.

More books by Rebecca Barrow

Customer Reviews

Bad Things Happen Here follows the story of Luca, who lives in the idyllic island of Parris which is plagued by the unsolved deaths of young women - most significantly, Luca's best friend Polly. This cursed feeling is further exacerbated by the death of Luca's sister Whitney, prompting the former to team up with Naomi, the new girl next door, to take the investigation into their own hands. But will their search finally reveal the truth about Whitney's murder? The chapters are very short, so the story moves along at a brisk pace, and with the use of literary devices such as italics to reveal character thoughts and/or speech as well as the change of font to emphasise text messages between them it's written in a way that will be accessible to the intended young adult target audience while remaining accessible given the dark subject matter.

- 18/07/2022
Report this Review

Overall, I greatly enjoyed this book. Firstly, I felt immediately connected to the characters, which made me want to continue reading the story. I felt that they were relatable (especially Luca), and well written. I also loved the representation; biracial, LGBTQ+ and characters with mental health issues were included. I really enjoyed exploring the world of Parris, which at first appears to be an idyllic island, however is later revealed that this is a complete facade, and the island is full of mysteries and secrets. The plot was full of twists and turns, and totally unexpected at times! My only criticism is that I felt that some problems were not solved by the end of the book (such as Polly’s death) which left me with unanswered questions. Overall, I loved this thriller, and hope to read more of Rebecca Barrow’s books in the future!

- 28/06/2022
Report this Review

Paradise can be deadly ... I adore Hot Key Books and think they publish some brilliant books that often land just right, so I have total trust in their taste, and this one is no exception. The writing feels a little younger (simpler maybe) than I was anticipating, but that is fine with me, I readjusted my expectations and dove back in. I feel this one will be a hit with fans of The Inheritance Games or We Were Liars. I love the island, small-town setting, and was fully hooked throughout. The beautiful island is plagued by unsolved deaths of young women, including our MC's best friend, and now her sister too. So she teams up with the girl next door to investigate... The setting is truly beautiful, and If YA Mysteries are your thing, then this one is the perfect summer read. It's fast-paced and engaging, and the short chapters will keep you turning that page to find out what happens next. Thanks so much to the publisher for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review, all opinions are my own.

- 28/06/2022
Report this Review

This compelling young adult novel is part thriller and part coming-of-age story and impressively manages to combine a tightly-plotted murder mystery with a beautifully-drawn outsider protagonist already dealing with some tough issues. Luca Laine Thomas is just two months shy of turning eighteen and lives on the seemingly idyllic Parris, an island populated by the predominantly white and wealthy. For outsider Luca, a black, mixed-race, queer girl troubled by intrusive thoughts, the island’s history of unsolved deaths of young women deemed accidental (or wilfully ignored in Luca’s opinion) makes her feel like it’s cursed. Three years ago this curse took Luca’s best-friend, Polly, when she was pulled out of the ocean that she was so frightened of going near. Still deeply traumatised by these events the arrival of a hot new neighbour moving into Polly’s former home next door catches Luca’s eye but gives rise to conflicting emotions. Before Luca can explore her attraction to Asian new girl, Naomi, the curse strikes once again with Luca’s idolised older sister, Whitney, found dead following a party. Suddenly everyone on the island becomes a suspect and Luca can’t ignore the same feeling that she had about Polly’s death, namely that it’s more than a mere curse, and below the surface of paradise island lies a far darker truth. Sceptical that the Parris PD and Detective Charles will make a decent fist of investigating Whitney’s death given their history with previous cases and in particular Polly’s death, Luca, assisted by Naomi, decides to take matters into her own hands. Pivotal well-timed revelations from Whitney’s gang of friends ratchet up the tension but also test Luca’s mental health to the limit and force her to question everything she thought she knew about her sister. Barrow never loses sight of Luca’s struggle with grief for both Whitney and Polly and her daily battle with intrusive thoughts never feels like a box ticking exercise but integral to her being. The chemistry and emotional connection between Luca and Naomi is both sweet and well-observed and Luca exploring her sexuality contrasts well with her relentless pursuit of the truth about the night Whitney died. The secondary cast aren’t the most likeable but all are individual and their clear characterisation makes for a gripping murder mystery with an unpredictable outcome. Luca’s sense of identity is memorably positive and her wry humour and brave determination to be true to herself had me rooting for her all the way. Rebecca Barrow’s prose is superb and this is a haunting, thought-provoking story that handles multiple important issues with sensitivity. Although there is a lot going on in this thriller it never feels overcrowded and it combines short chapters with a pacey, powerful narrative that doesn’t sugarcoat anything and tackles serious topics with honesty and compassion.

- 26/06/2022
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Scare Me
(Paperback)
Teri Terry
 
 
£7.99
 
He Who Breaks the Earth
(Hardback)
Caitlin Sangster
 
 
£16.99
 
Gone Dark
(Paperback)
Amanda Panitch
 
 
£8.99
 
Liar's Beach
(Paperback)
Katie Cotugno
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd