The Exact Opposite of Okay (Izzy O'Neill) - Laura Steven; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Exact Opposite of Okay (Izzy O'Neill)
Foyalty 24

The Exact Opposite of Okay (Izzy O'Neill) (Paperback)

£7.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

WINNER of the inaugural Comedy Women in Print prize 2019.











'A brilliant social satire ... disarmingly charming and relatable ... it was hilarious.

Laura Steven is an explosive talent on the page!' CWIP judges Marian



Keyes, Kathy Lette, Katy Brand, Allison Pearson, Shazia Mirza and Jennifer Young











'Laura Steven simultaneously destroyed the patriarchy and made me laugh so hard I choked. I will protect Izzy O'Neill with my life.' Becky Albertalli, author of Love Simon









A hilarious, groundbreaking young adult novel for anyone who's ever called themselves a feminist ... and anyone who hasn't. For fans of Louise O'Neill, Holly Bourne and Amy Schumer.







Izzy O'Neill here! Impoverished orphan, aspiring comedian and Slut Extraordinaire, if the gossip sites are anything to go by ...





Izzy never expected to be eighteen and internationally reviled. But when explicit photos involving her, a politician's son and a garden bench are published online, the trolls set out to take her apart. Armed with best friend Ajita and a metric ton of nachos, she tries to laugh it off - but as the daily slut-shaming intensifies, she soon learns the way the world treats teenage girls is not okay. It's the Exact Opposite of Okay.





Bitingly funny and shockingly relevant, The Exact Opposite of Okay is a bold, brave and necessary read.





For fans of Booksmart, Sex Education, The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Doing It by Hannah Witton, Love Simon by Becky Albertalli and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo.





'Funny, unapologetic and shameless in the best possible way, this is a YA heroine (and book) that you've never seen before' - Louise O'Neill, award-winning author of Asking for It





'This book will make you laugh out loud, nod in agreement, cringe with recognition, and stand up and cheer. I adored it' - Katherine Webber, author of Wing Jones





'I LOVED this book! A really smart, relevant and switched-on exploration of teen sexuality, gender and slut-shaming' - Katherine Woodfine, bestselling author of The Sinclair's Mysteries





Laura Steven is an author, journalist and screenwriter from the northernmost town in England. She has an MA in Creative Writing and works at a non-profit organisation supporting women in the creative arts. Her TV pilot, Clickbait, was a finalist in British Comedy's 2016 Sitcom Mission. The Exact Opposite of Okay is her first book for young adults.

Laura Steven is an author, journalist and screenwriter from the northernmost town in England. She has an MA in Creative Writing and works at a non-profit organisation supporting women in the creative arts. Her TV pilot, Clickbait, was a finalist in British Comedy's 2016 Sitcom Mission. The Exact Opposite of Okay is her first book for young adults.

More books by Laura Steven

Customer Reviews

Izzy O’Neill’s life gets turned upside down when explicit photos of her appear online, and there’s only so far that her natural optimism and wit can keep her going. However, the lads involved are left unscathed as Izzy is shamed for only doing what’s natural at her age. The unfairness of it all, and the manner in which Izzy is treated is disgusting and really riles you up as you read it! I wouldn’t call myself a feminist, but this book really does highlight a massive issue in the world regarding teens, gender equality and sex. I absolutely adored The Exact Opposite of Okay and couldn’t put it down! Izzy as a narrator was so entertaining whilst showing her vulnerability when her humour couldn’t mask it. She was in essence a very typical teenage girl who you could relate to. A concept I really enjoyed as someone in my early twenties was the differences between all the guys in the book and how being a “nice guy” is very different to being a “good guy”. This is an idea that’s very accurate! I would definitely recommend that all young girls/women read The Exact Opposite of Okay, especially fans of authors such as Holly Bourne and Sara Barnard. Laura Steven is an exciting new voice in YA and I can’t wait to see what’s to come next!

- 05/03/2018
Report this Review
Leave Review

Our Christmas Last Posting Dates can be found here
 

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Soulmates
(Paperback)
Holly Bourne; Holly Bourne
 
 
£7.99
 
One
(Paperback)
Sarah Crossan
 
 
£7.99
 
Shatter Me (Shatter Me)
(Paperback)
Tahereh Mafi
 
 
£8.99
 
It's Not Like It's a Secret
(Paperback)
Misa Sugiura
 
 
£7.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd