Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The New David Espinoza
Foyalty 24

The New David Espinoza (Paperback)

£7.99
Pre-order for despatch on publication.

Synopsis

This own voices story from the acclaimed author of The Closest I've Come unflinchingly examines steroid abuse and male body dysmorphia. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Matt De La Pena.



David Espinoza is tired of being messed with. When a video of him getting knocked down by a bully's slap goes viral at the end of junior year, David vows to use the summer to bulk up- do what it takes to become a man-and wow everyone when school starts again the fall.



Soon David is spending all his time and money at Iron Life, a nearby gym that's full of bodybuilders. Frustrated with his slow progress, his life eventually becomes all about his muscle gains. As it says on the Iron Life wall, What does not kill me makes me stronger.



As David falls into the dark side of the bodybuilding world, pursuing his ideal body at all costs, he'll have to grapple with the fact that it could actually cost him everything.

Children'sFiction & true storiesChildren'sPersonal & social issuesBody & healthChildren'sPersonal & social issuesBullying, violence & abuseChildren'sPersonal & social issuesDrugs & addiction Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc Publication Date: 03/03/2021 ISBN-13: 9780062489906  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Pre-order for despatch on publication. Pre-Order

Fred Aceves is the author of The Closest I've Come, which was an ALA/YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection, a Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year selection, and an NYPL Best Books selection. The New David Espinoza is his second novel. Fred has lived in seven different countries and currently lives in Mexico. His online home is www.fredaceves.com.

More books by Fred Aceves

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 1-2 Days
Click and Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop
Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Bright Body Book
(Hardback)
 
 
£12.99
 
Meet the Microbes!: The Tiny Living...
(Hardback)
Emily Grossman; Maggie Li
 
 
£12.99
 
All Around Bustletown: Fall
(Board)
Rotraut Susanne Berner
 
 
£11.99
 
A First Look At: Autism: I See Things...
(Paperback)
Pat Thomas; Claire Keay
 
 
£7.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close