Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Knock Knock Who's There?
Foyalty 30

Knock Knock Who's There? (Paperback)

To Order. Estimated despatch in 1-3 weeks.
Email me when back in stock


This is a family story, told in turn by each of its members. The matriarch, Diana, a retired headmistress of repute, is suffering from Altzheimers. With recurrent episodes of sanity she still plays a pivotal role. Her sister-in-law, Aunt Betsie, is virtually responsible for bringing up the children and grandchildren, until, at the age of 39, she marries Dafydd, who is penniless, and has a learning disability. A most likeable fellow, he is blessed with a wonderful tenor voice. A few years after joining the family he inherits a fortune. With Betsie, Dafydd moves to the ancestral mansion in Wales, which they convert to a successful hotel. Diana's son, Adrian is a journalist, and her daughter, Harriet, a schoolteacher. Adrian marries Mildred, who plays the second pivotal role in the novel. They have two children, Sophie, an art student, who has a disastrous love affair with a tutor, and Nick, a fourteen-year-old boy who's frequently in trouble at school. Both their stories take up a considerable part of the novel, as does a love affair between Harriet and Adrian's black friend, Justin. Adrian embarks on an adulterous ill-fated liaison.

The major family crisis - the core of "Knock Knock" - occurs when Adrian has a stroke, from which he only partially recovers, and Mildred faces the impossible task of caring for both her husband and Diana, whose dementia has taken a steep downward turn. Dafydd, brain-damaged at birth, and a minor character in the story, plays a major role in the final pages.

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: New Generation Publishing Publication Date: 13/07/2006 ISBN-13: 9780755202416  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: To Order. Estimated despatch in 1-3 weeks.  

More books by Michael Shocket

Leave Review


Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.


Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

A Dog's Way Home: The Heartwarming...
W. Bruce Cameron
Grimspound and Inhabiting Art
Rod Mengham
Bait, Grist and Security
Mike Hodges
A Shameful Life: (Ningen Shikkaku)
Osamu Dazai; Mark Gibeau
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close