Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
A Blackpool Christmas: A heart-warming and nostalgic festive family saga - the perfect winter read!
Foyalty 21

A Blackpool Christmas: A heart-warming and nostalgic festive family saga - the perfect winter read! (Paperback)

£6.99
Not currently available to order online.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

The war is over, but will Christmas be enough to bring them together?



The brand new novel by bestselling author Mary Wood, writing as Maggie Mason



'In the grand tradition of sagas set down by the late and great Catherine Cookson ' Jean Fullerton on Blackpool Lass



CHRISTMAS, 1918.



The war may be over, but for newly reunited sisters Babs and Beth, peace has yet to find them. Having been taken from their mother at a young age and then separated themselves for twelve years, their family has encountered enough pain to last a lifetime.



As the festive season approaches, they realise their struggles are far from over, but if they want to look forward to a happy future together they must work to put the past behind them. Will the joys of Christmas be enough to unite their family once more?



The third and final book in the Sandgronians trilogy by Maggie Mason. The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale and Nadine Dorries



Readers love the Maggie Mason's Blackpool sagas . . .



'5 stars - I wish I could give it more. Wonderful read.'



'Another must read book'



'What a brilliant book. I couldn't put it down!'



'I was hooked from the first page . . . this author is a must read'



'A totally absorbing read'

Fiction & PoetryFiction & PoetryHistorical FictionSagas Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group Publication Date: 12/11/2020 ISBN-13: 9780751577181  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Not currently available to order online.  

Maggie Mason also writes saga as Mary Wood. Mary was born the thirteenth child of fifteen and throughout her life had various factory, office and home-based jobs, finally becoming a probation service officer before she retired. Mary married in 1963 and with her husband Roy has four children, eight grandchildren, and five step-grandchildren. She got her first book deal in 2013 and has not looked back since.

More books by Maggie Mason

Customer Reviews

Another series I've come to late in the day; a solidly written tale with so much going on! With the end of the Great War, Tilly's family are looking forward to a very special Christmas. An awful lot has happened to this family and they have more reasons than most to rejoice. With Tilly having been deprived of her twins, Beth and Babs, for many years, she wants nothing more than for them all to get together this festive season; with ongoing issues and more problems arriving, can they have their special festive day? This is a really chunky saga with each page filled with so much going on that I really had to keep my wits about me. From an author who knows her stuff - if you are a reader who enjoys family sagas by the likes of Catherine Cookson and Josephine Cox, then I would absolutely recommend this series to you. With ups and downs, twists and turns from first to last, I appreciated the epilogue which finished it all off beautifully. I never realised that there was a dialect in Blackpool, but quickly came to terms with it in this skilfully crafted and well planned novel. Definitely a writer worth following, and I'm happy to give this one 4.5*.

- 19/11/2020
Report this Review

A saga set in 1916 onwards, this is a novel of amazing characters, gathered together and separated by the forces of war and other difficult circumstances. It tells the story of Tilly, who has faced incredible challenges in her life, her now adult twin daughters, Babs and Beth, and more recent family and friends. It is a book packed with events and emotion, affection and surprises. Babs and Beth are in some ways the centre of this book, but there are many characters who become involved with the family and community group, centred around a farm and the tourist area of Blackpool. This is the third and final book in the Sandgronians trilogy, meaning that it concerns people who are born and grew up in Blackpool. Having said that, this book definitely stands alone as a novel on its own, with links back to the previous two in terms of ongoing characters and situations. This makes it a strong multi dimensional read as a strong story has substantial developments from previous books, but it stands alone as an absorbing story. I had not read the previous novel, but found it very easy to pick up what had preceded this one. Babs is a determined widow who is expecting her late husband, Rupert’s, baby at the start of the novel. Beth is also pregnant, but in her case her husband Henry is alive, though serving abroad. They are close, but their past has divided them in a crucial way. This book looks at their difficult relationship in the light of their troubled past, their challenging present and their uncertain future. The depth of affection and friendship expressed in this book is remarkable; it also has much to say about the power of strong and determined women. I was very pleased to have the opportunity to read and review this well written and engaging book. The book begins on the farm owned and run by Tommy and Tilly, as they have married since the traumatic events which separated her from her daughters following her first husband’s death. Babs is working on the farm, as much as she can given her advanced pregnancy. It emerges that she had been working as a nurse on a Casualty train in France when it was attacked, Rupert was killed, and she returned to her mother’s farm. Also present is Eliza, Tommy and Tilly’s daughter, who is working as an apprentice baker. Everyone is looking forward to Christmas, despite those who are lost. Beth is to join them for the day, and that fact revives difficult memories. Babs and Beth were taken by a gypsy couple when they were small children, and although Babs fled from them at the age of thirteen, Beth had stayed and formed a longer standing relationship with Jasmine and Roman. This continuing situation means that Tilly and Babs cannot completely trust Beth as she is still in contact with those responsible for such long standing hurt. As the family and friends come together to celebrate Christmas day, a significant event brings new people into their lives. This book looks at the fortunes and developments in the lives of this small group of women. They will face challenges, as the War that is being fought in Europe continues. Less tangible but equally painful circumstances will change their lives, and both Babs and Beth will have to make choices that change their lives and the lives of others. This is a very enjoyable book, absorbing in its descriptions and personalities. It has much to say about women’s lives in the early part of the twentieth century, and the powerless that they can suffer from. The plight of war widows is mentioned, especially when left with children who need support. This book shows a good understanding of the pressures on women at the time; the research into the clothes, the expectations and the problems is so well handled that it all feels completely natural. This is a lovely book of love, some losses and hope. I recommend this book to everyone who enjoys sagas set in the early twentieth century.

- 14/11/2020
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 1-2 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

Click here for further information on Click & Collect during lockdown

Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

White Rivers: A gripping saga of love...
(Paperback)
Rowena Summers
 
 
£8.99
 
A Valley Secret: Book 2 in the...
(Hardback)
Anna Jacobs
 
 
£20.99
 
Coming Home to the Four Streets
(Paperback)
Nadine Dorries
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close