Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
All the Good Things
Foyalty 39

All the Good Things (Paperback)

£12.99
Currently unavailable to order online.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

What if you did a very bad thing... but that wasn't the end of the story'An extremely moving, emotional rollercoaster of a debut novel' 5* Goodreads reviewTwenty-one year old Beth is in prison. The thing she did is so bad she doesn't deserve ever to feel good again.But her counsellor, Erika, won't give up on her. She asks Beth to make a list of all the good things in her life. So Beth starts to write down her story, from sharing silences with Foster Dad No. 1, to flirting in the Odeon on Orange Wednesdays, to the very first time she sniffed her baby's head.But at the end of her story, Beth must confront the bad thing.What is the truth hiding behind her crime? And does anyone - even a 100% bad person - deserve a chance to be good?All the Good Things is a story about redemption and hope for fans of Nathan Filer, Stephen Kelman and Emma Healey Heartfelt, heartbreaking, and genuinely joyous (Francis Spufford, author of 'Golden Hill')Compassionate and beautifully written (Carys Bray, author of 'The Museum of You') I raced through this beautiful novel, which oscillates between pain and hope, anger and joy. An important novel which celebrates the fact that good things exist inside every person, no matter how ignored or hidden. (Sarah Butler, author of 'Ten Things I've Learned About Love' and 'Before the Fire') A heartbreaking, vital and seamless insight into a life that might otherwise be ignored or judged. The voice of Bethany is perfect - compelling, whip-smart and deeply affecting. (Emma Jane Unsworth, author of 'Animals')If I could have given this book six stars I could. . So beautifully written and so insightful (5* Goodreads review)In this profoundly moving but surprisingly funny debut novel, Clare Fisher has given voice to people on the fringes of society, people with a story like any of us (5* Netgalley review)This empathetic beautiful story will have you bawling your eyes out (5* Goodreads review)'All The Good Things' is a well written and heartbreaking novel (5* Goodreads review)Utterly riveting, cunningly written and bursting full of character (4* Netgalley review)This really is a wonderful debut... a beautiful story about social exclusion, the vulnerability of women and girls, and the unfortunate ones who fall through the cracks (4* Goodreads review)'All The Good Things' by Clare Fisher is a highly charged emotional read that just grabs you right in the heart (4* Goodreads review)[This] novel will challenge preconceptions about the kind of people who end up in care; the kind of people who end up in prison; the kind of people who do terrible things (4* Goodreads review)

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Publication Date: 01/06/2017 ISBN-13: 9780241275764  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Currently unavailable to order online.  

Clare Fisher was born in Tooting, south London in 1987. After accidentally getting obsessed with writing fiction when she should have been studying for a BA in History at the University of Oxford, Clare completed an MA in Creative and Life Writing at Goldsmiths College, University of London, and now works as a bookseller in Leeds. An avid observer of the diverse area of south London in which she grew up, Clare's writing is inspired by her long-standing interest in social exclusion and the particular ways in which it affects vulnerable women and girls. All The Good Things is her first novel.

More books by Clare Fisher

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Testaments
 
Margaret Atwood
 
£20.00
£10.00
50%
Big Sky
(Hardback)
Kate Atkinson
 
 
£20.00
 
Getting Old Will Haunt You
(Hardback)
Rita Lakin
 
 
£20.99
 
The Missing Pieces of Sophie ...
(Paperback)
B M Carroll
 
 
£7.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close