Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Arrowood and the Thames Corpses
Foyalty 27

Arrowood and the Thames Corpses (Paperback)

£8.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

A gripping historical crime novel, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom

'Crackles with energy and wit' The Times



South London, 1896.







William Arrowood, Victorian London's less salubrious private detective, is paid a visit by Captain Moon, the owner of a pleasure steamer moored on the Thames. He complains that someone has been damaging his boat, putting his business in jeopardy.





Arrowood and his trusty sidekick Barnett suspect professional jealousy, but when a shocking discovery is pulled from the river, it seems like even fouler play is afoot.





It's up to Arrowood and Barnett to solve the case, before any more corpses end up in the watery depths . . .





Praise for Mick Finlay:





'Another brilliant read from Mick Finlay . . . even better than [Arrowood]' B.A. Paris





'Astounding ... If you crave Victorian age murder mystery, love darkly gothic atmospheres and want your detective rather tattered and torn at the edges Arrowood is your man.' SHOTS





'Enthralling' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Fiction & PoetryCrime & ThrillersHistorical mysteries Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Publication Date: 02/04/2020 ISBN-13: 9780008324520  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Mick was born in Glasgow but left as a young boy, living in Canada and then England. Before becoming an academic, he ran a market stall on Portobello Road, and has worked as a tent-hand in a travelling circus, a butcher's boy, a hotel porter, and in various jobs in the NHS and social services. He teaches in a Psychology Department, and has published research on political violence and persuasion, verbal and non-verbal communication, and disability. He now lives in Brighton with his family.

More books by Mick Finlay

Customer Reviews

A historical murder mystery set in the filthy streets and habitations of London in 1896, full of a dark humour and a quiet feud with Sherlock Holmes, this novel has much to recommend it. Despite historic levels of dirt and flies, the characters in this novel jump off the page in all their vivid life, emotions and individualism whether street child or tourist. It is narrated by the faithful Barnett, helper, supporter and occasional bodyguard to the unique William Arrowood, “the guvnor”, private detective and investigator. These are not the polite, intellectual adventures as described by Watson, but rather the dirty and dangerous investigating amongst London’s poorest for twenty shillings a day. Of course money is not Arrowood’s only motive for his daily actions; once committed to a case he finds it difficult to let go. This the third book by this skilful author in the series, but it works well as a standalone novel as the characters involved soon become evident. I was pleased to have the opportunity to read and review this detailed and memorable book. This book opens with two people seeking the help of the detective to stop a campaign of damage on their pleasure steamer. Having negotiated a price, the two men become involved in the fate of Captain Moon and Susie. A rather shocking discovery following an arson attempt suggests that there is more than just a right to the routes at stake. The terrible find attracts the involvement of the police, including a new detective who is very ambitious. Both William and Barnett have difficult and overcrowded rooms in which to live, and both are in urgent need of funds, especially as William has family difficulties. Their investigations take a terrible turn, and they believe that there is real danger even if they are no longer working for money. Both men find that the more they investigate, using some fairly cunning deceits, the more danger they are in, even losing their liberty. As domestic difficulties become more pressing, they are forced into ever more complicated actions. The discovery of a past tragedy gives some clues to present difficulties, they use their skills to prevent more death. This book really revels in the small details of street food, the cost of drinks, and the sheer reality of living in one of the poorest parts of London. Children swarm around anything interesting, being either abandoned or ignored. Women have few if any options, with children, addiction to gin and other challenges on a daily basis. Despite the dirt, rodents and other terrors of the streets, there are some strong characters who have real affection and loyalty to the others. There is also some humour, especially in some aspects of William’s behaviour and his antipathy towards Holmes, an in joke for fans of historical murder. There is evidence of a vast amount of research into the social history of the turn of the century London, but historical facts never get in the way of a strong story which works on several levels. The psychological elements of the investigations are well observed; as Barnett comments when in a very tricky situation, the emotions of others can affect one’s own view. This is a memorable, well paced and impressively written book, with much to recommend it, especially to fans of historical mysteries with a realistic edge.

- 04/04/2020
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery Free Free 3-5 Days
UK First Class £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop Free Free From 2 hours
Click and Collect Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Drowned City: Daniel Pursglove 1
(Hardback)
K. J. Maitland
 
 
£16.99
 
Untitled Flavia Albia 9: Flavia Albia 9
(Hardback)
Lindsey Davis
 
 
£20.00
 
The Drowned City: Daniel Pursglove 1
(Paperback)
K. J. Maitland
 
 
£14.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close