Death Comes to Bishops Well: The Shires Mysteries 1: A totally gripping cosy mystery - Anna Legat; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Death Comes to Bishops Well: The Shires Mysteries 1: A totally gripping cosy mystery
Foyalty 30

Death Comes to Bishops Well: The Shires Mysteries 1: A totally gripping cosy mystery (Paperback)

£9.99
UK delivery within 2 weeks

Synopsis

BOOK ONE IN THE SHIRES MYSTERIES - A TWISTY NEW WHODUNNIT.



When Sam Dee moves to the beautiful Wiltshire village of Bishops Well, he expects a quiet life of country walks and pub lunches. OK, so his new neighbour, Maggie Kaye, is a little peculiar, but she's very nice - and his old pal Richard Ruta lives just down the road.



But when Richard throws one of his famous parties, things take a sinister turn. Sam, Maggie and the rest of the guests are dumbfounded when Richard falls down dead. A horrible tragedy - or a cunningly planned murder?



With a village full of suspects - and plenty of dark secrets - just who exactly would want to bump off their host? Is there a connection to another mysterious death, nearly twenty years before?



Armed with her local knowledge, Maggie - with Sam's reluctant but indispensable help - is soon on the case. But when the body count starts to rise, will sleepy Bishops Well ever be the same again?



A GRIPPING NEW COSY CRIME MYSTERY, FOR FANS OF BETTY ROWLANDS, FAITH MARTIN AND JOY ELLIS.



What readers are saying about Anna Legat:



'Brilliant. I didn't want to put it down!'



'It's a rare author who can keep me guessing until the end - and the ending was a shocker'



'Plenty of twists and turns'



'A brilliantly complex spaghetti of unrelated sub-plots to challenge any armchair sleuth'



'I thoroughly enjoyed this book, reading it cover to cover in a weekend'



'I shall look out for more from Ms Legat'

Fiction & PoetryCrime & Thrillers Publisher: Headline Publishing Group Publication Date: 26/08/2021 ISBN-13: 9781786157942  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: UK delivery within 2 weeks Add to Basket

Anna Legat is a Wiltshire-based author, best known for her DI Gillian Marsh murder mystery series. A globe-trotter and Jack-of-all-trades, Anna has been an attorney, legal adviser, a silver-service waitress, a school teacher and a librarian. She read law at the University of South Africa and Warsaw University, then gained teaching qualifications in New Zealand. She has lived in far-flung places all over the world where she delighted in people-watching and collecting precious life experiences for her stories. Anna writes, reads, lives and breathes books and can no longer tell the difference between fact and fiction.

More books by Anna Legat

Customer Reviews

Sam Dee is a lawyer who decides that he wants a quieter life than London offers, and so buys a house in the beautiful and traditional village of Bishops Well. Within a short time everything changes, and Sam is not the only person to wonder exactly what is happening in this apparently peaceful community. Anna Legat’s first book in the Shires Mysteries series is a well written cosy mystery with much to offer, including gentle humour, a special talent or two, and some genuinely touching moments. It also introduces some characters who are extremely memorable, especially Maggie Kaye, the next door neighbour who has special insight. Another minor character appears to have featured in a previous series by Legat, Detective Inspector Gillian Marsh. Maggie narrates every other chapter of this novel, so very early on the reader is let into a secret that she hides very well. This book is a contemporary mystery which is presented in a lively way. The general narration enables the reader to discover more than Maggie can witness and understand herself, and Maggie’s sometimes humorous and down to earth observations are frequently more thoughtful. Legat manages all her characters, plot and the well paced narration of this book very well. I found it a very enjoyable book which I was so glad to have the opportunity to read and review. Any reservation Sam might have about moving to a quiet village is soon dismissed as he encounters his old friend Richard Ruta who is throwing a birthday party. Richard is a well known film director who has an interesting past, including his traumatic arrival in Britain. His expansive character and apparently generous disposition means that he has invited all of his three wives, the first two who he divorced. Dotty, the first wife who now lives in Florida, has been trying to hold back time with “All the bloody surgeries and implants she’s been through”. Mary, the second wife, lives in Bishops Well and is a friend of Maggie, an ordinary woman who was somewhat abruptly replaced by the glamorous Penny, the present wife. When Sam surprisingly asks Maggie to be his plus one at the birthday party, she is delighted not only to be singled out by him, but also because she is a Richard Ruta fan of long standing. She is keen to find out what he is really like, but is as surprised as most people when the party is interrupted by a demonstration which reminds everyone of a tragedy which took place at the house. When Richard drops down dead it is the start of events which no one could have foreseen, and Maggie’s determination to find out what really happened not only involves a largely bewildered Sam but also people who have history with Richard. This is a lively book which covers not only the usual elements of a closed community mystery, but also some surprising additional elements. There are evidently some back stories in the case of Maggie and her family, Sam and others which I assume will emerge in future instalments in this promising series. I found that there are surprising themes in this book which are unusual to find in what at first glance is a “cosy” mystery which hints at depths to come. I enjoyed this book greatly, found it entertaining and I would therefore recommend it as the start of a series.

- 03/09/2021
Report this Review

No shortage of suspects in this murder mystery! Sam Dee moves to a beautiful Wiltshire village anticipating a quiet life; how wrong could he be? Making the acquaintance of his neighbour Maggie – referred to locally as Mystic Maggie – Sam gets an invitation to a party thrown by his old friend, Richard Ruta, who lives locally. Richard’s parties are well known and Sam invites Maggie along, although neither of them expected the host to drop down dead in front of everyone! This is a good mystery in a village setting which, as we all know from watching Midsomer Murders, is a hotbed of gossip and goings-on! With a good cast of characters and plenty of twists and turns, this is one book which will keep you mystified until the very end. I have read Anna Legat’s work before and thoroughly enjoyed it but I has issues with this novel. There are multiple narrators which change chapter by chapter with no indication of who is in charge. I’m sure I missed some pertinent points as I struggled to work out who was talking each time. I’ve read this author previously and expected to be more entertained, but this definitely spoiled my enjoyment. Still a good read, but could be even better with just a little attention. 4* from me.

- 30/08/2021
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Daggers Drawn
(Paperback)
Maxim Jakubowski; Ian Rankin; ...
 
 
£8.99
 
The Yorkshire Rippers: A True Fiction
(Paperback)
David Peace
 
 
£10.99
 
Roman Nights
(Paperback)
Dorothy Dunnett
 
 
£8.99
 
Vortex: An FBI Thriller
(Paperback)
Catherine Coulter
 
 
£10.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd