Exciting Times: Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2021 - Naoise Dolan; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Exciting Times: Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2021
Foyalty 45

Exciting Times: Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2021 (Hardback)

£14.99
Currently unavailable
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

'The book of the summer ... Kept me rapt until the final page' THE TIMES



'A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it' David Nicholls, author of ONE DAY



'More than lives up to the hype ... Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers' lives' IRISH TIMES



'Droll, shrewd and unafraid - a winning debut' Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL



'I've been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan's pithy observations of her characters are the best I've read since Edward St Aubyn' OBSERVER



'A frankly sensational book' Pandora Sykes on THE HIGH LOW



'In the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron ... I found myself purring with pleasure. ...This is comic writing at the highest level' Craig Brown, DAILY MAIL



When you leave Ireland aged 22 to spend your parents' money, it's called a gap year. When Ava leaves Ireland aged 22 to make her own money, she's not sure what to call it, but it involves:



- a badly-paid job in Hong Kong, teaching English grammar to rich children;

- Julian, who likes to spend money on Ava and lets her move into his guest room;

- Edith, who Ava meets while Julian is out of town and actually listens to her when she talks;

- money, love, cynicism, unspoken feelings and unlikely connections.



Exciting times ensue.

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Fiction & PoetryRomanceRomanceAdult & contemporary romanceHealth & WellbeingHealth & PsychologyFamily & relationshipsDating, relationships, living together & marriage Publisher: Orion Publishing Co Publication Date: 16/04/2020 ISBN-13: 9781474613446  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Currently unavailable  

Naoise Dolan is an Irish writer born in Dublin. She studied English Literature at Trinity College Dublin and Oxford University. EXCITING TIMES is her first novel, an excerpt from which was published in The Stinging Fly. EXCITING TIMES has been longlisted for the Women's Prize and the Dylan Thomas Prize, and shortlisted for the An Post Irish Book Awards, Dalkey Literary Awards and Waterstones Book of the Year. Naoise was also shortlisted for the Sunday Times / University of Warwick Young Writer of the Year Award in 2020.

More books by Naoise Dolan

Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Queenie
(Paperback)
Candice Carty-Williams
 
 
£8.99
 
A Villa in Portofino
(Paperback)
Evonne Wareham
 
 
£8.99
 
Love Theoretically: From the...
(Paperback)
Ali Hazelwood
 
 
£8.99
 
The High Notes
(Paperback)
Danielle Steel
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd