Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Expectation: The most razor-sharp and heartbreaking novel of the year
Foyalty 33

Expectation: The most razor-sharp and heartbreaking novel of the year (Hardback)

£10.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

'Profoundly intelligent and humane. Deserves to feature on many a prize shortlist' GUARDIAN

'A brilliant exploration of friendship, feminism and thwarted ambition' PANDORA SYKES, Highlow Best Read

'If you wished Normal People had tackled female friendship, try Expectation' GRAZIA

_______________________



What happened to the women we were supposed to become?



Hannah, Cate and Lissa are young, vibrant and inseparable. Living on the edge of a common in East London, their shared world is ablaze with art and activism, romance and revelry - and the promise of everything to come. They are electric. They are the best of friends.



Ten years on, they are not where they hoped to be. Amidst flailing careers and faltering marriages, each hungers for what the others have. And each wrestles with the same question: what does it take to lead a meaningful life?



The most razor-sharp and heartbreaking novel of the year, EXPECTATION is a novel about finding your way: as a mother, a daughter, a wife, a rebel.



FOR FANS OF SALLY ROONEY, DOLLY ALDERTON, ELIZABETH DAY AND PHOEBE WALLER-BRIDGE'S FLEABAG



___________________

'Thoughtful, beautifully written, honest. A sensual book. I URGE YOU TO READ IT' MARIAN KEYES



'Will resonate with approximately 99% of women' RED MAGAZINE summer pick



'One of the most intensely readable novels this year' METRO



'One of our most gifted contemporary writers' WATERSTONES



'Beautiful, sharp, moving. I urge you to read it' ELIZABETH DAY



'I couldn't stop reading the fab Expectation. Such brilliant points on the feminist legacy' PROF KATE WILLIAMS



'The story of three college friends, if you're a fan of Sally Rooney, you'll love EXPECTATION' IRISH EXAMINER



'A must-read' FABULOUS MAGAZINE Book of the Year



'Exceptional.. I highly recommend it' STACEY HALLS



'A generation-defining book on motherhood, ambition and sex. Like Normal People with female friendship under the microscope.' ERIN KELLY



'Totally unputdownable, immersive, sharp. I loved it' HARRIET EVANS



'Jaw-droppingly good' SARRA MANNING



'SO GOOD. A 'What they did next' story of characters from a Sally Rooney novel' SARAH FRANKLIN



'Few novels leave me so genuinely breathless with their brilliance' HANNAH BECKERMAN



'The perfect summer reading' STYLIST



'Sublime' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING



'Dark, relatable, elegant' LIZA KLAUSSMANN



'Intimate and touching' NINA POTTELL



'A marvellously tangy London novel' DAILY MAIL



'A grown-up, honest take on female camaraderie. Packed with talking points' MAIL ON SUNDAY



'Hugely absorbing, massively enjoyable' LISSA EVANS



'An observant look at the complexities of modern female friendships' I-NEWSPAPER



'Perceptive, intelligent, bittersweet, and beautifully written' BOOKBRUNCH



'Brings to vivid life that tension one feels just before middle age, when it begins to become clear life won't end up looking exactly how we thought it would. The female friendships here are ones we'll all recognize. Outstanding' MARY BETH KEANE



A HighLow, Good Housekeeping, Red, Spectator, Prima, Fabulous and Irish Independent Best Read of 2019

ANNA HOPE studied at Oxford University and RADA. She is the internationally prizewinning and bestselling author of Wake and The Ballroom. Her contemporary fiction debut, Expectation, explores themes of love, lust, motherhood, and feminism, while asking the greater question of what defines a generation. She lives in Sussex with her husband and young daughter.

More books by Anna Hope

Customer Reviews

Read this book sitting on Parliament Hill - thoroughly enjoyed it and found all the characters relatable in different ways.

- 26/09/2019
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery Free Free 3-5 Days
UK First Class £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop Free Free From 2 hours
Click and Collect Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Normal People
(Paperback)
Sally Rooney
 
£8.99
£6.99
22%
The Split
(Hardback)
Laura Kay
 
 
£14.99
 
Postcard from New York
(Paperback)
Rosie Curtis
 
 
£7.99
 
The Littlest Library
(Paperback)
Poppy Alexander
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close