Expectation: The most razor-sharp and heartbreaking novel of the year - Anna Hope; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Expectation: The most razor-sharp and heartbreaking novel of the year
Foyalty 33

Expectation: The most razor-sharp and heartbreaking novel of the year (Hardback)

£10.99
Not currently available to order online.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

'Profoundly intelligent and humane. Deserves to feature on many a prize shortlist' GUARDIAN

'A brilliant exploration of friendship, feminism and thwarted ambition' PANDORA SYKES, Highlow Best Read

'If you wished Normal People had tackled female friendship, try Expectation' GRAZIA

_______________________



What happened to the women we were supposed to become?



Hannah, Cate and Lissa are young, vibrant and inseparable. Living on the edge of a common in East London, their shared world is ablaze with art and activism, romance and revelry - and the promise of everything to come. They are electric. They are the best of friends.



Ten years on, they are not where they hoped to be. Amidst flailing careers and faltering marriages, each hungers for what the others have. And each wrestles with the same question: what does it take to lead a meaningful life?



The most razor-sharp and heartbreaking novel of the year, EXPECTATION is a novel about finding your way: as a mother, a daughter, a wife, a rebel.



FOR FANS OF SALLY ROONEY, DOLLY ALDERTON, ELIZABETH DAY AND PHOEBE WALLER-BRIDGE'S FLEABAG



___________________

'Thoughtful, beautifully written, honest. A sensual book. I URGE YOU TO READ IT' MARIAN KEYES



'Will resonate with approximately 99% of women' RED MAGAZINE summer pick



'One of the most intensely readable novels this year' METRO



'One of our most gifted contemporary writers' WATERSTONES



'Beautiful, sharp, moving. I urge you to read it' ELIZABETH DAY



'I couldn't stop reading the fab Expectation. Such brilliant points on the feminist legacy' PROF KATE WILLIAMS



'The story of three college friends, if you're a fan of Sally Rooney, you'll love EXPECTATION' IRISH EXAMINER



'A must-read' FABULOUS MAGAZINE Book of the Year



'Exceptional.. I highly recommend it' STACEY HALLS



'A generation-defining book on motherhood, ambition and sex. Like Normal People with female friendship under the microscope.' ERIN KELLY



'Totally unputdownable, immersive, sharp. I loved it' HARRIET EVANS



'Jaw-droppingly good' SARRA MANNING



'SO GOOD. A 'What they did next' story of characters from a Sally Rooney novel' SARAH FRANKLIN



'Few novels leave me so genuinely breathless with their brilliance' HANNAH BECKERMAN



'The perfect summer reading' STYLIST



'Sublime' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING



'Dark, relatable, elegant' LIZA KLAUSSMANN



'Intimate and touching' NINA POTTELL



'A marvellously tangy London novel' DAILY MAIL



'A grown-up, honest take on female camaraderie. Packed with talking points' MAIL ON SUNDAY



'Hugely absorbing, massively enjoyable' LISSA EVANS



'An observant look at the complexities of modern female friendships' I-NEWSPAPER



'Perceptive, intelligent, bittersweet, and beautifully written' BOOKBRUNCH



'Brings to vivid life that tension one feels just before middle age, when it begins to become clear life won't end up looking exactly how we thought it would. The female friendships here are ones we'll all recognize. Outstanding' MARY BETH KEANE



A HighLow, Good Housekeeping, Red, Spectator, Prima, Fabulous and Irish Independent Best Read of 2019

ANNA HOPE studied at Oxford University and RADA. She is the internationally prizewinning and bestselling author of Wake and The Ballroom. Her contemporary fiction debut, Expectation, explores themes of love, lust, motherhood, and feminism, while asking the greater question of what defines a generation. She lives in Sussex with her husband and young daughter.

More books by Anna Hope

Customer Reviews

Read this book sitting on Parliament Hill - thoroughly enjoyed it and found all the characters relatable in different ways.

- 26/09/2019
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Normal People
(Paperback)
Sally Rooney
 
 
£8.99
 
The Summer Wedding in Santorini
(Paperback)
Samantha Parks
 
 
£8.99
 
Three Times You
(Paperback)
Federico Moccia
 
 
£5.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd