Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Listening to the Quiet: A gripping saga of love and secrets in a Cornish village
Foyalty 27

Listening to the Quiet: A gripping saga of love and secrets in a Cornish village (Paperback)

£8.99
Pre-order for despatch on publication.

Synopsis

When new passions rise to the surface, old secrets threaten to ruin everything...Jo Venner returns to the Cornish tin-mining village to where she grew up to take up the post of schoolmistress filled with memories of the happy days she spent there as a child. Despite being rejected by her mother, she is determined to build a life in Parmath.



She soon falls in love with Luke Vigus who stirs up feelings she has never known before. But Luke is burdened with the responsibility of an alcoholic mother and his three young half-siblings - and their relationship can never be accepted by the villagers.



Meanwhile Marcus Lidgey, the schoolmaster, is drawn to Jo. Yet he too harbours a dark past and is gradually, dreadfully, losing his mind...







An emotional saga of love and community set in Cornwall, perfect for fans of Anna Jacobs and Margaret Dickinson

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionSagasFiction & PoetryRomanceErotic FictionHistorical romanceFiction & PoetryRomanceRomance Publisher: Canelo Publication Date: 12/09/2022 ISBN-13: 9781800328327  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Pre-order for despatch on publication. Pre-Order

Gloria Cook is the author of well-loved Cornish novels, including the Pengarron and Harvey family sagas. She is Cornish born and bred, and lives in Truro.

More books by Gloria Cook

Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Free
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Dover Cafe Under Fire: A moving...
(Paperback)
Ginny Bell
 
 
£7.99
 
The Hidden Palace
(Paperback)
Dinah Jefferies
 
 
£8.99
 
Untitled Hell's Bells  2
(Paperback)
Sarah MacLean
 
 
£8.99
 
A Wicked Woman
(Hardback)
Nadine Dorries
 
 
£12.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close