Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Saturdays at Noon: An uplifting, emotional and unpredictable page-turner to give you hope and make you smile
Foyalty 24

Saturdays at Noon: An uplifting, emotional and unpredictable page-turner to give you hope and make you smile (Paperback)

£7.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

Sink into this heart-warming and captivating debut - perfect for fans of Half A World Away by Mike Gayle and The Rosie Project



'Wonderful, compassionate, unpredictable' GRAEME SIMSION, bestselling author of The Rosie Project



'Beautifully written and filled with emotion, I genuinely couldn't recommend Saturdays At Noon enough' 5***** Reader Review

________



Perfect for fans of The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary, The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion and Half A World Away by Mike Gayle



Emily just wants to keep the world away.



After getting into trouble yet again, she's agreed to attend anger management classes. But she refuses to share her deepest secrets with a room full of strangers.



Jake just wants to keep his family together.



He'll do anything to save his marriage and bond with his six-year-old son, Alfie. But when he's paired with spiky Emily, he wonders whether opening up will do more harm than good.



The two of them couldn't be more different. Yet when Alfie, who never likes strangers, meets Emily, something extraordinary happens.



Could one small boy change everything?

_________



'I loved this original, at times painful but truly thought-provoking book' KATIE FFORDE



What readers are saying . . .



'Beautifully written and filled with emotion, I genuinely couldn't recommend Saturdays at Noon enough' ***** NetGalley Reader Review



'This is such a special book . . . the characters jump off the page and pull you immediately into their world' ***** NetGalley Reader Review



'This book was FANTASTIC. When I wasn't reading it I couldn't stop thinking about it' ***** NetGalley Reader Review



'Outstanding. I have goosebumps typing this review . . . The story telling is the best I have read in a long time' ***** NetGalley Reader Review



Longlisted for the Guardian's 'Not The Booker' prize!

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Fiction & PoetryRomanceRomanceAdult & contemporary romanceHealth & WellbeingHealth & PsychologyFamily & relationships Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Publication Date: 06/02/2020 ISBN-13: 9781405940078  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Rachel Marks studied English at Exeter University before becoming a primary school teacher. Despite always loving to write, it wasn't until she gained a place on the 2016 Curtis Brown Creative online novel writing course that she started to believe it could be anything more than a much-loved hobby. Her inspiration for her first book, Saturdays at Noon, came from the challenges she faced with her eldest son, testing and fascinating in equal measure, and the research she did to try to understand him better. Every Other Weekend is her second novel.

More books by Rachel Marks-Jones

Customer Reviews

A special one! I'd say this book is more than a simple romance. It's also a family book about self acceptance and working to be better. Written realistically, with warm humour, the characters and the story is gripping - a rare thing for a book that is far from a thriller! Emily and Jake meet in an anger management class. They clash, she sees him as arrogant and a poor father. He sees her as a skin-head in denial about her anger. They soon learn there's more to what they first saw. They both have issues, 'messed up' lives. Jake is struggling to parent his son, Alfie who may be autistic. Emily is struggling with moving forward. But being together, against the problem, they just might come on top... Rachel Marks writes with heart. Her characters are touching, and vulnerable, and they bring life to the page! This is an unassuming book which has a lot going for it; the stuff you can't see right away. Indeed, I'm struggling to put into words how original this book is. It's been compared to The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary, which is a wonderful book in its own right, but this one is very different. Not all romances have something more, but this one has that for sure! I worry that reading as many romances as I do, (seriously I can't resist) all my reviews are beginning to sound the same! I certainly can't do this book and its many themes justice... Just don't miss this one! :D Themes: parenting, dark character back-stories, abuse, broken families, autism, love. Note: I received this book through NG for review consideration. All opinions are honest and completely my own.

- 28/07/2019
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £20 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.75 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Click and Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop
Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Expectation
(Paperback)
Anna Hope
 
£8.99
£7.49
17%
The Central Line
(Paperback)
Saskia Sarginson
 
 
£14.99
 
The Return: The heart-wrenching new...
(Paperback)
Nicholas Sparks
 
 
£7.99
 
The Zookeeper of Belfast: A...
(Paperback)
S. Kirk Walsh
 
 
£7.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close