Signed Edition - The Key In The Lock - Beth Underdown | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Signed Edition - The Key In The Lock
Foyalty 45

Signed Edition - The Key In The Lock (Hardback)

£14.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Foyles Notes

Signed Edition

Synopsis

THE PAGE-TURNING NEW NOVEL FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE RICHARD AND JUDY BOOKCLUB BESTSELLING THE WITCHFINDER'S SISTER


_________________________


I still dream, every night, of Polneath on fire. Smoke unfurling out of an upper window and a hectic orange light cascading across the lawn.


By day, Ivy Boscawen mourns the loss of her son Tim in the Great War. But by night she mourns another boy - one whose death decades ago haunts her still.


For Ivy is sure that there is more to what happened all those years ago: the fire at the Great House, and the terrible events that came after. A truth she must uncover, if she is ever to be free.


Brimming with secrets, this lyrical, haunting historical thriller is perfect for fans of Elizabeth Macneal, Sarah Watersand Diane Setterfield.


_________________________


PRAISE FOR BETH UNDERDOWN


'A gifted storyteller' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent


'Vivid and terrifying' Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train


'Beth Underdown grips us from the outset and won't let go' Patrick Gale, author of Notes From An Exhibition


'A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat


'Thumpingly good' Lucy Mangan, author of Bookworm


'Beth Underdown cleverly creates a compelling atmosphere of dread and claustrophobia' Kate Riordan, author of The Girl in the Photograph


'A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel' Ian McGuire, author of The North Water



Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionFiction & PoetryHorrorClassic horror & ghost stories Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Publication Date: 13/01/2022 ISBN-13: 2369537082544  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

More books by Beth Underdown

Customer Reviews

“THE KEY IN THE LOCK” is a hauntingly gothic style, historical mystery set in Cornwall and written by Beth Underwood, an author whose readers have been waiting on tenterhooks for this, her second novel. - “By day, Ivy Boscawen mourns the loss of her son Tim, in the Great War. But by night she mourns another boy - one whose death decades ago, haunts her still. For Ivy is sure that there is more to what happened all those years ago: the fire at the Great House and the terrible events that came after. A truth she must uncover, if she is ever to be free.” The story opens in 1918 with Ivy Boscawen drenched in grief after learning her young son has been ‘killed’ in the Great War. She is struggling to understand how he died, due to the unusual phrasing of the telegram they received. As she desperately tries to overcome her intense sorrow, her mind is taken back to 1888 when her father was the local town doctor and she accompanied him to a devastating fire at the prominent powder mill owner’s Manor House. When it’s discovered that William, a young child who died suspiciously in the fire, Ivy is embroiled in the difficult inquest that follows. However, Ivy can’t help recollecting her actions following that terrible event and whether or not she could have done more to get justice for William. The story is told by Ivy and switches between the two timelines seamlessly. This book drew me in instantly and I found it very addictive and engrossing. The emotions from Ivy were truly genuine and I could relate to her feelings as a mother, wondering if her son’s death on the frontline was her fault in her mothering. The two deaths were completely different to each other and created different style griefs and perspectives and I thought they were handled with the correct amount of sympathy and emotions, enabling the book to stay mysterious and have that gothic secretive edge. I was caught out by the impressive denouement but the clever plotting by the author, meant that the two timelines convened into a surprising and entertaining conclusion, that’s really not to be missed. I adored this beautiful book and I would happily urge readers of gothic historical thrillers to make sure this is on your reading list for 2022. You won’t be disappointed! #TheKeyInTheLock - 5 stars

- 23/01/2022
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The House of Footsteps
(Paperback)
Mathew West
 
 
£8.99
 
Ancient Sorceries
(Hardback)
Algernon Blackwood; Joe McLaren
 
 
£9.99
 
The Haunting Season: The instant...
(Paperback)
Bridget Collins; Natasha Pulley; ...
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd