Sleepless - Louise Mumford; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Sleepless
Foyalty 27

Sleepless (Paperback)

£8.99
Currently unavailable
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

'The Circle meets Black Mirror in a thrilling, plausible and gripping debut. Frighteningly inventive.' John Marrs, bestselling author of The One









'Wow wow wow! What a story that was!... An unputdownable thriller... Absolutely brilliant read that had me on the edge of my seat!' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars









Don't close your eyes. Don't fall asleep. Don't let them in.







Thea is an insomniac; she hasn't slept more than three hours a night for years.





So when an ad for a sleep trial that promises to change her life pops up on her phone, Thea knows this is her last chance at finding any kind of normal life.





Soon Thea's sleeping for longer than she has in a decade, and awakes feeling transformed. So much so that at first she's willing to overlook the oddities of the trial - the lack of any phone signal; the way she can't leave her bedroom without permission; the fact that all her personal possessions are locked away, even her shoes.





But it soon becomes clear that the trial doesn't just want to help Thea sleep. It wants to control her sleep...







An unputdownable, gripping psychological thriller for fans of The One, Behind Her Eyes and Girl A!







Readers LOVE Sleepless!

'A twisty, action-packed plot make this intriguing thriller unputdownable.' Roz Watkins, author of the DI Meg Dalton series





'A brilliantly original premise which is horrifyingly believable - one for insomniacs everywhere.' Catherine Cooper, author of The Chalet





'This book is INSANE... Just could not put the book down.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars





'Twisty and tantalizing. It made me sleepless all night until I finished it.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars





'Hooks you in from the opening chapter... A novel of breathtaking pace that keeps readers on the edge of their seats.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars





'This book was so good. From the beginning I was engrossed... I wanted more. A fantastic read.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars





'Kept me up half the night while I raced through the pages... If you like John Marrs, you'll love this.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars





'Inventive, thrilling, believable, exceptional and well written... I couldn't put this book down with the result that I probably slept less than ever but it was worth it. Highly recommended.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars





'Start this one early... it is very difficult to put down... Fantastic storyline, loads of tension and brilliant characters.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Fiction & PoetryCrime & ThrillersFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Publication Date: 10/12/2020 ISBN-13: 9780008412241  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Currently unavailable  

Louise was born and lives in South Wales. From a young age she loved books and dancing, but hated having to go to sleep, convinced that she might miss out on something interesting happening in the world whilst she dozed - much to her mother's frustration! Insomnia has been a part of her life ever since. She studied English Literature at university and graduated with first class honours. As a teacher she tried to pass on her love of reading to her students (and discovered that the secret to successful teaching is... stickers! She is aware that that is, essentially, bribery.) In the summer of 2019 Louise experienced a once-in-a-lifetime moment: she was discovered as a new writer by her publisher at the Primadonna Festival. Everything has been a bit of a whirlwind since then. Louise lives in Cardiff with her husband and spends her time trying to get down on paper all the marvellous and frightening things that happen in her head.

More books by Louise Mumford

Customer Reviews

An unusual read for me, but no less interesting. Thea doesn't sleep; it's not that she doesn't need her sleep - it's just that she can't sleep for her full eight hours, or anything like it. So when she reads an ad on her phone promising to sort it all out, she realises that she has to pursue what may be her last chance as a decent night's sleep. What Thea doesn't realise is how high a price she'll have to pay in return for the elusive zzzz's. Separated from family and friends, kept isolated and having to seek permission even to leave her room . . . Now, I normally pass on anything with the word 'dystopian' anywhere near it, but this one appealed to me and certainly didn't disappoint. A gripping and enthralling read, I soon found myself totally immersed in the story and needing to find out where it was going. There is plenty happening and the creep factor figures large in this one - I shuddered, often! A good read which demonstrates how each of us can dig deep and find something in ourselves that we didn't know was there, and the type of book where once started, it has to be finished! If you enjoy a bit of a spine-chilling read, then this is one for you. Four stars from me.

- 11/12/2020
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Sinner: (Rizzoli & Isles series 3)
(Paperback)
Tess Gerritsen
 
 
£8.99
 
The Witness
(Hardback)
Alexandra Wilson
 
 
£14.99
 
Gambling Apocalypse: KAIJI, Volume 6
(Paperback)
Fukumoto Nobuyuki
 
 
£15.99
 
Lady MacDeath
(Hardback)
Mary Daheim
 
 
£22.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd