Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Chalk Man: The Sunday Times bestseller. The most chilling book you'll read this year
Foyalty 39

The Chalk Man: The Sunday Times bestseller. The most chilling book you'll read this year (Hardback)

£12.99
Despatched in 2 business days.

Synopsis

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER & SHORTLISTED FOR A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD AND THE STEEL DAGGER, BEST THRILLER AWARD . . .



A DAILY TELEGRAPH BOOK OF THE YEAR



'If you like my stuff, you'll like this' STEPHEN KING



'A tense gripper with a leave-the-lights-on shock ending' Sunday Times

________________



You can feel it in the woods, in the school and in the playground; you can feel it in the houses and at the fairground. You can feel it in most places in the small town of Anderbury . . . the fear that something or someone is watching you.



It began back in 1986, at the fair, on the day of the accident. That was when twelve-year-old Eddie met Mr Halloran - the Chalk Man.



He gave Eddie the idea for the drawings: a way to leave secret messages for his friends and it was fun, until the chalk men led them to a body.



Thirty years later, Ed believes the past is far behind him, until an envelope slips through the letterbox. It contains a stick of chalk, and a drawing of a figure.



Is history going to repeat itself?



Was it ever really over?



Will this game only end in the same way?

________________



'[I] haven't had a sleepless night due to a book in a long time. The Chalk Man changed that' Fiona Barton, bestselling author of The Widow and The Child



'Completely engrossing. Reminiscent of those unsettling Stephen King stories of childhood' John Boyne author of The Boy In The Striped Pyjamas



'A must-read' Daily Express



'Deliciously creepy with a side order of Eighties nostalgia' Good Housekeeping



'Plenty of plot twists and an evocative portrait of small-town-life in the 1980s . . . a riveting read' Guardian



'There are shades of Stephen King when the reality bends into the sinister, and a deliciously creepy finale' Daily Mail



'Wonderfully creepy - like a cold blade on the back of your neck' LEE CHILD



'It's a very clever story - you'll love it!' Joanna Cannon



'Unsettling, taut and skillfully plotted, The Chalk Man grabbed me by the throat from the very first sentence and didn't let go until the final, heart-stopping page' Nuala Ellwood, author of The Day of the Accident



Now in chilling audio, narrated by the acclaimed actor ANDREW SCOTT, known for his roles in Spectre and Sherlock. ASA BUTTERFIELD known for Hugo and The Boy in Striped Pyjamas also stars as twelve-year-old Eddie.

Fiction & PoetryCrime & Thrillers Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Publication Date: 11/01/2018 ISBN-13: 9780718187439  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Add to Basket

C. J. Tudor's love of writing, especially the dark and macabre, started young. When her peers were reading Judy Blume, she was devouring Stephen King and James Herbert. Over the years she has had a variety of jobs, including trainee reporter, radio scriptwriter, dog walker, voiceover artist, television presenter, copywriter and, now, author. Her first novel, The Chalk Man, was a Sunday Times bestseller and has sold in over forty countries. The Taking of Annie Thorne is her second novel. Twitter @CJTudor Facebook @CJTudorOfficial

More books by C. J. Tudor

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-7 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Out of Bounds: A Karen Pirie Thriller
(Paperback)
Val McDermid
 
 
£8.99
 
The Dry
(Paperback)
Jane Harper
 
 
£8.99
 
Bag of Dolls
(Hardback)
Josie Wells
 
 
£11.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close