The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction - Lily Graham; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Foyalty 24

The Child of Auschwitz: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction (Paperback)

£8.99
£7.99
11%
Usually despatched within 1 week.

Synopsis

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel



__________



'She touched the photograph in its gilt frame that was always on her desk, of a young, thin woman with very short hair and a baby in her arms. She had one last story to tell. Theirs. And it began in hell on earth.'



It is 1942 and Eva Adami has boarded a train to Auschwitz. Barely able to breathe due to the press of bodies and exhausted from standing up for two days, she can think only of her longed-for reunion with her husband Michal, who was sent there six months earlier.



But when Eva arrives at Auschwitz, there is no sign of Michal and the stark reality of the camp comes crashing down upon her. As she lies heartbroken and shivering on a thin mattress, her head shaved by rough hands, she hears a whisper. Her bunkmate, Sofie, is reaching out her hand . . .



As the days pass, the two women learn each other's hopes and dreams - Eva's is that she will find Michal alive in this terrible place, and Sofie's is that she will be reunited with her son Tomas, over the border in an orphanage in Austria. Sofie sees the chance to engineer one last meeting between Eva and Michal and knows she must take it even if means befriending the enemy.



But when Eva realises she is pregnant she fears she has endangered both their lives. The women promise to protect each other's children, should the worst occur. For they are determined to hold on to the last flower of hope in the shadows and degradation: their precious children, who they pray will live to tell their story when they no longer can.



__________



A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel.



Readers are captivated by The Child of Auschwitz:



'This hauntingly heart-breaking story is one of pure, instinctual survival. It is a story of fierce friendships, unbreakable spirits, and the most powerful love possible. In the terror of their world fallen into darkness, these women found the smallest cracks where the light came in and stepped into to it with their lives. I was so spellbound by this captivating, riveting read that I could not put it down until I read every last word. Highly recommend The Child of Auschwitz as a must-read' Goodreads Reviewer, *****



'The Child of Auschwitz is a beautiful, emotional story of friendship, family, hope and love. I love reading historical fiction, so I had high hopes; Lily Graham did not disappoint! I love the way the story is written. It's hard to adequately put in to words how amazing this book is' Netgalley Reviewer, *****



'This book grabbed me from the first sentence and didn't let me go for the entire journey. I had goosebumps while reading . . . It is a beautiful story' Goodreads Reviewer, *****



'What a beautiful emotive book . . . I couldn't put this book down and while it is all about people suffering at the hands of the Nazis it also shows the love and friendship that can be found' Goodreads Reviewer, *****



'Hope and Promises in the most dire circumstances . . . What a tragic and realistic story this has been. Through all the evil there was hope, friendship and love. I highly recommend this book' Goodreads Reviewer, ?????

'Sensitively told, it's the story of heartbreak, suffering, starvation, cruelty and injustice but it's also the tale of the most amazing resilience, hope, determination and love . . . A most compelling read that will bring tears to your eyes and realisation of how lucky we are today' Goodreads Reviewer



'I have always loved a good historical fiction book, and this one did not disappoint! From the opening line of the book through the end I was hooked . . . The characters were well written and very relatable, and you found yourself rooting for Eva, and even crying at various points of the book' Goodreads Reviewer



'A deep and thought-provoking novel. It's remarkable in so many ways and heart-breaking in equal measure. A unique Holocaust read' The Book Trail



'The Child of Auschwitz is an emotional roller coaster of a read. Parts were horrific, saddening, shocking, heart warming, I think I went though every emotion possible whilst reading it. Even though fiction, for me, the author gives a very real account of what life was like in the camps as well as what took place inside them. An absolute must read' By the Letter Book Reviews

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionWar & combat fictionSecond World War fictionFiction & PoetryRomanceErotic FictionHistorical romanceFiction & PoetryRomanceRomance Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group Publication Date: 30/04/2020 ISBN-13: 9780751579819  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 1 week. Add to Basket

Lily Graham grew up in South Africa, and is a former journalist. She lives now in the Suffolk coast with her husband and English bulldog, Fudge. She is the author of six novels including the bestselling The Paris Secret and The Island Villa

More books by Lily Graham

Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Untitled Novel 2
(Hardback)
Giles Foden
 
 
£20.00
 
The Midnight News
(Hardback)
Jo Baker
 
 
£14.99
 
The Midnight News
(Paperback)
Jo Baker
 
 
£14.99
 
SBS: Special Boat Squadron
(Paperback)
Iain Gale
 
 
£9.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd