The Christmas Swap - Sandy Barker; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Christmas Swap
Foyalty 27

The Christmas Swap (Paperback)

£8.99
UK delivery within 2 weeks

Synopsis

"This was truly the Christmas romance of my dreams" 5 , Reader review







Will all three women have their Christmas wishes come true?

Christmas is coming and best friends Chloe, Jules, and Lucy are needing change... so swapping homes for the holidays could be the perfect present for all of them!





Australian Chloe spends her Christmas in a sleepy village in Oxfordshire, England. She is totally star-struck when she discovers who lives across the road.





Lucy, who has jetted off to snowy Colorado for her dream-come-true white Christmas, is taken into the fold of Jules's loud and brash family, discovering more about herself in a few short days than she has in years.





And Jules leaves the cold climes of Colorado to spend her Christmas on a beach with Chloe's friends in Melbourne, finding that time away is just what she needed.







The only thing better than one Christmas romance is three, and this wonderful festive novel is perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Holly Martin and Karen Swan.









What readers are saying about The Christmas Swap:







"To say I really enjoyed this book may be an understatement!"





"It was like watching a hallmark Christmas movie with a glass of Pinot in hand, smelling the turkey cooking in the oven all day."





"I loved this book! I have already recommended this to my best friend even before I finished it!"





"This sweet holiday story had me totally hooked! If you're looking for a fun, romantic, different take on a Christmas novel, you should absolutely pick this one up!"





"I had so much fun reading this. It was super cheesy in the best way. I found myself grinning silly and trying to hide it while I read in public. "





"This story was everything I want in a holiday read"





"There's such a tremendous warmth about the whole book - the settings, the festive touches, the way the characters develop and discover themselves, that strong friendship, the perfect romances - and I entirely loved it. You really must add it to your Christmas reading list - you're going to love it too."

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Fiction & PoetryRomanceRomanceAdult & contemporary romance Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Publication Date: 26/11/2020 ISBN-13: 9780008390044  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: UK delivery within 2 weeks Add to Basket

Sandy Barker is an Australian writer, traveller and hopeful romantic with a lengthy bucket list and a cheeky sense of humour. Many of Sandy's travel adventures have found homes in her writing, including her debut novel, a contemporary romance set in Greece, which was inspired by her true-life love story. Follow her on Twitter @sandybarker

More books by Sandy Barker

Customer Reviews

I was just in the mood for an uplifting, festive read when I picked up this book, the news is quite depressing at the moment isn’t it, and what a perfect choice this is for anyone looking for something to warm their cockles and bring a sprinkling of Christmas cheer into their lives. It also addresses one of the burning questions of the age – is Die Hard a Christmas movie? The book follows three friends who meet on holiday aged eleven and forge a bond that survives over the years, despite the fact they all live on different continents. Fast forward a couple of decades and all of the girls are at some kind of cusp in their lives with issues that need a shake up. Will swapping homes and Christmases for one year provide the catalysts they need to move to the next stage of their lives? The premise of the book is charming and it works perfectly. Cue the opportunity for the author to transport us to three very different countries for three very different Christmases. In Oxford, Melbourne and Colorado, the three girls are taken in by their friend’s families and find out how the other half does Christmas. Warm beaches, snowy mountains and the English countryside provide the perfect backdrops against which the girls can explore unique Christmas traditions, and maybe make new friends, even of a romantic variety! The author does an absolutely fabulous job of drawing the different environments and transporting the reader there. This book is armchair travel at its most enticing and I felt like I had been transported to the locations in the novel. I defy anyone to come away from reading this book and not wish they could be snow-shoeing through a quiet, Colorado forest or doing a horseback tour of Australian wineries. My passport is itching just thinking about it, especially given my lack of travel this year. For me, the most compelling thing about this book is the portrayal of the friendship between the three girls. Each of the characters was perfectly drawn and absolutely believable, and the dynamic between them realistic and charming to read. I have two very close groups of female friends who mean the world to me and are the first people I would turn to, in times of trouble and turmoil, but also in times of joy and success. I recognised immediately the workings of the friendship between these women, even went it was sent slightly off track, and it was such a joy to read. I so wanted everything to work out for them, shared their happiness and disappointment throughout and, by the end, I didn’t want to leave their company. I felt like they had become my friends, and I really want to know how things end up for them. This is a really cheering read with the perfect flavour of Christmas to get you in the mood for the upcoming holiday. I would highly recommend it to all fans of romance looking for a bit of Yuletide cheer. And, as for that burning question at the beginning – is Die Hard a Christmas movie? Of course it is, and that is a hill I am prepared to die on.

- 09/12/2020
Report this Review

A truly enjoyable festive read with friends and fun! Chloe, Jules and Lucy have been friends a long time and are spread across the globe; this year, each find themselves facing a very different kind of yuletide and agree to swap locations to experience Christmas in a new way. So Chloe heads off from the city of Melbourne, Australia to celebrate in a village in Oxfordshire, England. Lucy, in turn, heads off to a very wintry Colorado to experience a really snowy Christmas whilst Jules heads off to Melbourne, desperate for warmth and sunshine this holiday. Will they all find the kind of break they're hoping for? I'm very fond of books where two or three characters are followed in turn, so this one was right up my street! I appreciated that each chapter was headed up with the name of the person focused on - saved me from getting muddled up until I had each one in their correct setting! Getting to know each of these young women felt like a privilege; a sneak peek into their lives, hopes and dreams with a great big dollop of humour dropped into the mix. Three for the price of one, all with Sandy Barker's wonderful dialogue which made me grin all the way through, keeping me turning the pages long after I should have been in the land of nod. A sparkling Christmas novel which made such a good job of putting me in a festive mood that I just had to purchase a fabulous decoration today! Guaranteed to fill up your Christmas spirit and easily worth all five stars and a huge recommendation.

- 13/10/2020
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

A Villa in Portofino
(Paperback)
Evonne Wareham
 
 
£8.99
 
The High Notes
(Paperback)
Danielle Steel
 
 
£8.99
 
The Best Days of Our Lives: the...
(Paperback)
Lucy Diamond
 
 
£8.99
 
What Happens On Vacation: The...
(Paperback)
Jo Watson
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd