The Ends of the Earth: 2022's most unforgettable love story - Abbie Greaves; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Ends of the Earth: 2022's most unforgettable love story
Foyalty 39

The Ends of the Earth: 2022's most unforgettable love story (Hardback)

£12.99
Currently unavailable
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

The breathtaking new novel from the author of The Silent Treatment - for fans of Jojo Moyes, Joanna Cannon and Ruth Jones.



'A remarkable tale of love and loss and finding something different' KATIE FFORDE



'Tender and intriguing, this page-turning story of loss and longing will twist your heart' RACHEL HORE



'Mary and Jim's story will draw you in, keep you guessing and stir up every available emotion. A truly enthralling, moving read - I loved it' HOLLY MILLER

_____________

Mary O'Connor has been keeping a vigil for her first love for the past seven years.



Every evening without fail, Mary arrives at Ealing Broadway station and sets herself up among the commuters. In her hands Mary holds a sign which bears the words: 'Come Home Jim.'



Call her mad, call her a nuisance, call her a drain on society - Mary isn't going anywhere.



That is, until an unexpected call turns her world on its head. In spite of all her efforts, Mary can no longer find the strength to hold herself together. She must finally face what happened all those years ago, and answer the question - where on earth is Jim?

_____________

'Poignant and moving, this is 2021's standout love story so far- and one that shines a light on some very important issues. Exceptional.' THE SUN, Pick of the Week



'Oh, this gorgeous book. I absolutely loved it... A book that can make me both laugh and cry is an absolute winner in my book and The Ends of the Earth did just that. It offers all that I want in a book and it will be one of my books of the year.' NB MAGAZINE



'Fans of Jojo Moyes will love this intricate tale of a woman searching for answers about a lost lover.' NEW MAGAZINE

_____________

PRAISE FOR ABBIE GREAVES:



'A remarkable debut' JOJO MOYES



'It's beautiful, so moving and clever. I truly adored it.' JOSIE SILVER



'Beautifully written in Greaves's unique voice... Poignant, heart-breaking and insightful.' WOMAN & HOME



'A must read' SUNDAY EXPRESS



'Empathetic, beautifully written ... will resonate with fans of Jojo Moyes, David Nicholls and Gail Honeyman.' DAILY EXPRESS



'Such stunning prose, and such insight for a debut author... I was bowled over by Abbie's writing.' CLARE MACKINTOSH



'An unforgettable love story with a mystery that had me captivated until the last, heart-wrenching page. It deserves to be huge' CATHERINE ISAAC, author of You Me Everything



'Greaves's insightful account of a long marriage kept us gripped till the very last page' INDEPENDENT



'Beautifully written... Poignant, heart-breaking and insightful.' WOMAN



'Abbie Greaves masterfully unpicks a history of ordinary lives facing extraordinary challenges. I found it impossible to look away from the relationship at the heart of this novel.' GILLY MACMILLAN, author of The Nanny



'I really loved it...It's a very moving book' JO WILEY

Fiction & PoetryCrime & ThrillersFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Fiction & PoetryRomanceRomanceAdult & contemporary romance Publisher: Cornerstone Publication Date: 29/04/2021 ISBN-13: 9781529123968  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Currently unavailable  

Abbie Greaves studied at Cambridge University before working in a literary agency for a number of years. She was inspired to write her first novel, The Silent Treatment, after reading a newspaper article about a boy in Japan who had never seen his parents speak to one another before. Abbie lives in Brighton with her boyfriend.

More books by Abbie Greaves

Customer Reviews

“The Ends of the Earth” is the second novel by author Abbie Greaves, after the success with her critically acclaimed debut “The Silent Treatment”. - Mary O’Connor has been keeping a vigil for her first love of her life for the past seven years. Every evening without fail, Mary arrives at Ealing Broadway station and sets herself up among the commuters. In her hands Mary holds a sign which bears the words: ‘Come Home Jim’. When an unexpected phone call turns her world on its head, in spite of all her efforts, Mary can no longer find the strength to hold herself together. She must finally face what happened all those years ago, and answer the question – where on earth is Jim? “The Ends of the Earth” is both sad and uplifting, a love story and a mystery and focuses on important, heartfelt themes like grief, mental health issues, living with the fallout of a missing family member and coping with life’s difficulties. I liked Mary, my heart went out to her, keeping her nightly vigil, trying to deal emotionally with the last conversation she had before Jim left and her perseverance in believing he’ll still come home. Alice, her journalist friend thinks there’s a story there that will help save her job but since Mary doesn’t know she’s a reporter, she has to do her investigating in secret. But Alice also has her demons, her father disappeared from her life when she was young, so her efforts at seeking the missing Jim, reawaken her emotions. The story is told in the past and present, allowing the reader to see how Mary and Jim’s relationship developed and also Alice as she goes about her research, enlisting the help of Kit, a very likeable character who is dealing with some personal issues as well. What I took most from this story was the importance of community and having friends and with an ending that satisfactorily tied everything together. I enjoyed this tale of love and loss and can happily recommend it as an easy but powerful and entertaining read. 4 stars.

- 29/04/2021
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

A Villa in Portofino
(Paperback)
Evonne Wareham
 
 
£8.99
 
The High Notes
(Paperback)
Danielle Steel
 
 
£8.99
 
The Best Days of Our Lives: the...
(Paperback)
Lucy Diamond
 
 
£8.99
 
What Happens On Vacation: The...
(Paperback)
Jo Watson
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd