The Gifts: The captivating historical fiction debut for fans of THE BINDING - Liz Hyder; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Gifts: The captivating historical fiction debut for fans of THE BINDING
Foyalty 45

The Gifts: The captivating historical fiction debut for fans of THE BINDING (Hardback)

£14.99
UK delivery within 5 days

Synopsis

'Fierce and touching' Jennifer Saint, bestselling author of Ariadne



'Haunting, thrilling, wonderful. I loved it' Stacey Halls



'Your next obsession. . . Unique and captivating' Cosmopolitan



Discover the extraordinary, luminous novel that everyone is talking about, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Doll Factory



In an age defined by men, it will take something extraordinary to show four women who they truly are . . .



October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders.



Meanwhile, when rumours of a 'fallen angel' cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grips of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . .



THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH. A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition.



'A boldly feminist novel that lingers long after the last page' Susan Stokes Chapman, Sunday Times bestselling author of Pandora



'Imaginative, extraordinary . . . Brimming with historical detail and beautifully written, the soulful prose soars. It's an insightful, mysterious read celebrating female friendship and solidarity' Daily Express



'A stirring tale of female empowerment, full of vivid imagery and evocative settings' Observer



A glorious, evocative read, ripe for a movie adaptation. Victorian girl power? You bet' Apple Books



'In this glorious novel both women and words take flight. Don't miss it' Annie Garthwaite, author of Cecily



'I devoured The Gifts. A real gem' Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City



'A beautiful, riveting novel suffused with luminous magic' Jenny Saint, Sunday Times bestselling author of Ariadne



'I absolutely loved The Gifts. A fiercely feminist tale . . . Punchy, bold and glittering with brilliance' Lizzie Pook, author of Moonlight and the Pearler's Daughter



'Extraordinary. For any who loved The Essex Serpent, this is one that will sing to your soul' Jackie Morris, The Lost Words

Fiction & PoetryHistorical Fiction Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd Publication Date: 17/02/2022 ISBN-13: 9781786580733  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: UK delivery within 5 days Add to Basket

Liz Hyder has been making up stories for as long she can remember. She has a BA in drama from the University of Bristol and, in early 2018, won the Bridge Award/ Moniack Mhor Emerging Writer Award. Bearmouth, her debut young adult novel, won a Waterstones Children's Book Prize, the Branford Boase Award and was chosen as the Children's Book of the Year by The Times. Originally from London, she now lives in South Shropshire. The Gifts is her debut adult novel.

More books by Liz Hyder

Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Small Pleasures
(Paperback)
Clare Chambers
 
 
£8.99
 
Vanessa de Haan Untitled Book 2
(Paperback)
Vanessa de Haan
 
 
£8.99
 
Dark Objects
(Paperback)
Simon Toyne
 
 
£7.99
 
The Princess
(Hardback)
Wendy Holden
 
 
£14.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd