Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Last Day: The Sunday Times bestseller and one of their best books of 2020
Foyalty 39

The Last Day: The Sunday Times bestseller and one of their best books of 2020 (Hardback)

£12.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

_________________________________

'A beautifully realised and thought-provoking thriller.' THE TIMES

'A taut, thrilling runaround' GUARDIAN

'Reminiscent of Robert Harris's high-concept conspiracy thrillers' FINANCIAL TIMES

_________________________________

A WORLD HALF IN DARKNESS. A SECRET SHE MUST BRING TO LIGHT.



2059. The world has stopped turning.



One half suffers an endless frozen night; the other, nothing but burning sun.



Only in a slim twilit region between them can life survive.



In an isolationist Britain, scientist Ellen Hopper receives a letter from a dying man.



It contains a powerful and dangerous secret.



One that those in power will kill to conceal...

_________________________________



THE LAST DAY: an utterly original debut thriller, perfect for readers who loved Robert Harris' Fatherland, Emily St. John Mandel's Station 11, and The Wall by John Lanchester.

_________________________________

'Wonderful: boldly imagined and beautifully written - the best future-shock thriller for years.'

LEE CHILD



'A tantalizing, suspenseful odyssey of frustration, deceit, treachery, torture, hope, despair and ingenious sleuthing... Murray has so thoroughly thought through the ramifications of his conceit and conjured up such a dramatic plot and stellar cast of characters that he might have set a new standard for such tales.'

WASHINGTON POST



'A stunningly original thriller set in the world of tomorrow that will make you think about what's happening today.'

HARLAN COBEN



'I read this hungrily ... Its intelligence and bravura characterisation will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement.'

STEPHEN FRY



'A brilliantly clever thriller from a brilliantly clever writer.'

RICHARD OSMAN



'A brilliant debut ... Fans of Robert Harris will love it'

DAILY EXPRESS



'To say it's gripping is an understatement - I cancelled all my weekend plans to finish it'

SARA PASCOE



'In his fascinating debut, Murray has crafted something original ... an interesting new twist on a post-apocalyptic tale.'

KIRKUS



'Downright impossible to stop reading. The science is believable, the near-future world feels as real as our own, the characters are lively, and the plot is suspenseful. A near-perfect alternate-future thriller.'

BOOKLIST



'Dark, believable and brilliantly written'

JENNY COLGAN



'A thrilling page-turner, and a reminder to treasure our sunsets and sunrises while we still have them. I couldn't put this book down!'

CHRISTINA DALCHER, author of VOX



'Brilliant debut novel . . . The dystopian world is incredibly well realised, the characters are well drawn and the plot is nail-bitingly tense'

IRISH TIMES



'I loved the premise of this high-concept thriller ... a compelling read with some well-placed observations on the darkness of human nature and survival. The Last Day will keep you gripped to the very last page'

C.J. TUDOR

Fiction & PoetryCrime & ThrillersFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Cornerstone Publication Date: 06/02/2020 ISBN-13: 9781786331915  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Andrew Hunter Murray is a scriptwriter and fact-hunter for BBC2's QI. He co-hosts the podcast No Such Thing As A Fish, which has had 200 million downloads, and has toured the UK, Europe and Australia. He also writes jokes and journalism for Private Eye magazine, and hosts the Eye's podcast, Page 94. The Last Day is his first novel.

More books by Andrew Hunter Murray

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £20 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.75 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Click and Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop
Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Memo From Turner
(Paperback)
Tim Willocks
 
 
£8.99
 
You Are Next
(Paperback)
Arne Dahl
 
 
£12.99
 
Fate
(Paperback)
Zhou Haohui
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close