Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Lost Ones
Foyalty 39

The Lost Ones (Hardback)

£12.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

Some houses are never at peace.



England, 1917



Reeling from the death of her fiance, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick - but she arrives to discover a house of unease and her sister gripped by fear and suspicion.





Before long, strange incidents begin to trouble Stella - sobbing in the night, little footsteps on the stairs - and as events escalate, she finds herself drawn to the tragic history of the house.





Aided by a wounded war veteran, Stella sets about uncovering Greyswick's dark and terrible secrets - secrets the dead whisper from the other side...







In the classic tradition of The Woman in Black, Anita Frank weaves a spell-binding debut of family tragedy, loss and redemption.









Praise for The Lost Ones







'Haunting, emotional and exquisitely written' Amanda Jennings





'For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould. Intriguing, moving and assured' Essie Fox





'I loved it SO MUCH - so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps...' Lisa Hall





'If you liked A Woman in Black, you'll love this utterly gripping and atmospheric book' WOMAN&HOME





'My coffee is stone cold. My palms are sweaty. I've raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart' Samantha King





'An assured debut novel combining two well-loved literary genres set in country houses: the haunted house and the Agatha Christie-style whodunnit. Anita Frank's fiendishly devised plot springs a succession of shocks and revelations that keep you gripped until the final page' Noel O'Reilly

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionFiction & PoetryHorrorClassic horror & ghost stories Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Publication Date: 21/10/2019 ISBN-13: 9780008341220  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Anita Frank was born in Shropshire and studied English and American History at the University of East Anglia. She lives in Berkshire with her husband and three children and is now a full-time carer for her disabled son. This is her first novel.

More books by Anita Frank

Customer Reviews

A book which makes you hold your breath with suspense, tension and anticipation, “The Lost Ones” is a memorable novel. This is a book of historical fiction but with a contemporary understanding of people. A ghost story, a story of spiritual awareness, a woman struggling to recover from an enormous trauma. This is a mystery story set in a large house, indeed this is a novel about the breakup of a society that lived in huge mansions with a considerable staff. The layers of this story are so carefully constructed as to be totally absorbing, as each character is carefully drawn from the most minor servant to the main protagonists. This is an extremely atmospheric novel in every sense of the word, as the House in which most of the story takes place becomes another character, dark and hostile, threatening and full of menace as darkness descends. Some of the characters are also fearsome, a fact contributed to by the setting. The achievement of this book is its success in creating climatic events throughout the narrative with keeps the attention of the reader. I was so pleased to have the opportunity to read this book and join in this day of reviews. The main character, Stella, is a young woman who has evidently lost the love of her life, Gerald, in the battlefields of the First World War. In 1917 the war continues, but Stella has been sent back from her nursing as a VAD. As she walks around her family home she remembers an old tragedy, and she worries about a maid whose connection with the household is a matter of gratitude, despite her slight oddness. When Hector, Stella’s brother in law, asks Stella to visit Madeline as she is worried about her pregnancy, she tries to put aside her sadness to go to the country mansion where her sister is staying with Hector’s mother. Forced to take Annie Burrows with her, Stella is not anticipating the extent of Madeline’s distress which soon becomes evident. Despite the prevailing tension in the house and several incidents which disturb her, Stella is keen to find a rational explanation for the events which are upsetting the household. When a new and extremely sceptical investigator arrives, it would seem that supernatural forces become even more terrifying. Without giving too much away, this book has several themes and narrative questions. The matter of unresolved grief at this stage of the twentieth century is universal, as nearly every family has been affected by this war. Family secrets have to be unearthed and dealt with as the story develops. Stella must decide what is important to her as she faces so many challenges. There is not an actual plan of the house provided, but the power of the description is so strong that I could visualise the rooms in a lot of detail. The element of threat throughout the book to Stella and others feels very real.This is a vividly written book that is memorable for its impact. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, with its brilliant pacing and intense situations. I recommend it to fans of gothic thrillers, those interested in the later part and aftermath of the First World War, and the tragedy of loss. A mature and compelling read, it is a remarkable debut which I greatly enjoyed.

- 31/10/2019
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery Free Free 3-5 Days
UK First Class £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop Free Free From 2 hours
Click and Collect Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Jettatura
(Paperback)
Theophile Gautier; Andrew Brown
 
 
£5.99
 
The Turn of the Screw
(Paperback)
Henry James
 
 
£5.99
 
Green Tea: and Other Weird Stories
(Paperback)
J. Sheridan Le Fanu; Aaron Worth
 
 
£8.99
 
Queens of the Abyss: Lost Stories ...
(Paperback)
Mike Ashley
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close