Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Other Daughter
Foyalty 24

The Other Daughter (Paperback)

£7.99
Usually despatched within 1 week.

Synopsis

'A fresh, original, passionate and page-turning story about women's choices and past secrets that demands to be read' Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child



You only get one life - but what if it isn't the one you were meant to live?



'When it finally arrived I was shocked to see it; to read the words Mum wrote about these women fighting for rights I know I take for granted. Mum was here. And while she was, something happened that changed the entire course of my life. Perhaps, if I can summon the courage, the next eight weeks will help me finally figure out what that was . . .'



When Jessica discovers a shocking secret about her birth, she leaves her London home and travels to Switzerland in search of answers. She knows her journalist mother spent time in the country forty years earlier, reporting on the Swiss women's liberation movement, but what she doesn't know is what happened to her while she was there. Can Jess summon the courage to face the truth about her family, or will her search only hurt herself and those around her even more?



Set across a stunning Swiss backdrop, The Other Daughter follows one woman in her search for the truth about her birth, and another desperately trying to succeed in a man's world. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees, Elizabeth Noble and Kathryn Hughes.



'Fascinating and fast-paced, The Other Daughter had me hooked from the start. A timely reminder of how hard it is to succeed in a man's world' Rosanna Ley, author of From Venice with Love



'Well written and pacy. Full of gorgeous scenery, emotion and SUCH fascinating stuff about women's rights through the decades' Tracy Rees, author of The House at Silvermoor



'A tightly plotted and absorbing tale of one woman's journey to uncover the secrets of her birth. It beautifully fuses the personal and the political in its exploration of motherhood and women's rights, as Jess tries to reconcile herself to her own choices, and the choices made by those who came before her' Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy



'A gripping and emotional story' Patricia Wilson, author of Greek Island Escape



'I couldn't put it down. I felt totally drawn into the story and invested in the characters. It took me into areas of Swiss history that I knew nothing about, but I felt like I was living it with the characters, not being given a history lesson. It's also the most beautiful portrait of mother-daughter relationships' Caroline Scott, author of The Photographer of the Lost



'A fascinating and beautifully told exploration of women's rights and one woman's fight to uncover the secrets of her birth. The Other Daughter is a stunning debut I loved it' Clare Empson, author of Mine

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Fiction & PoetryRomanceErotic FictionHistorical romanceFiction & PoetryRomanceRomance Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd Publication Date: 18/02/2021 ISBN-13: 9781471190056  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 1 week. Add to Basket

Caroline Bishop began her journalism career at a small arts magazine in London, after a brief spell in educational publishing. She soon moved to work for a leading London theatre website, for which she reviewed shows and interviewed major acting and directing stars. Caroline turned freelance in 2012 and a year later moved to Switzerland, where her writing veered towards travel and she has contributed to publications including the Guardian, the Independent, the Telegraph and BBC Travel, writing mainly about Switzerland, and co-wrote the 2019 edition of the DK Eyewitness Guide to Switzerland. For two years Caroline was editor of TheLocal.ch, an English-language Swiss news site, and it was during this time that she became fascinated with aspects of Swiss history and culture, particularly the evolution of women's rights.

More books by Caroline Bishop

Customer Reviews

A fabulous story - families, mysteries and an insight into a country's history I knew nothing about. Jessica has a lot on her plate; having discovered something about her past which may well affect her future and when she's given the chance to pursue the truth, she embraces it. Heading off to Switzerland for the summer, ostensibly as a Nanny, Jess wants to trace events from almost four decades ago. Will she finally unravel the mystery and make peace with herself? A beautifully written story about how the past impacts on the present, this debut novel has a very eye-catching cover and I look forward to hearing more about this author. I found it very easy to empathise with Jess and was always considering what I would have done in her position. The revelations about the lack of equality for Swiss women in the seventies - at a time when I was starting my first job - took me by surprise and discovering some of the social practices regarding children really shocked me but it was all a necessary part of history leading to Jess's discoveries. There is never a dull moment in this novel and I found myself egging on Jess at the same time as feeling immense sympathy for her predicament. A lovely, rewarding read; one I'm happy to recommend and give 4.5*.

- 18/02/2021
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

We are experiencing delays with deliveries to many countries, but in most cases local services have now resumed. For more details, please consult the latest information provided by Royal Mail's International Incident Bulletin. 

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Currently not available
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Vanessa de Haan Untitled Book 2
(Paperback)
Vanessa de Haan
 
 
£8.99
 
Scandalous Alchemy
(Paperback)
Katy Moran
 
 
£8.99
 
The Marsh House
(Hardback)
Zoe Somerville
 
 
£18.99
 
Untitled Julia Quinn 1
(Paperback)
Julia Quinn
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close