The Railway Girls in Love - Maisie Thomas; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Railway Girls in Love
Foyalty 24

The Railway Girls in Love (Paperback)

£7.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

The brand new Railway Girls novel set in Manchester during WWII. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell, Daisy Styles and Margaret Dickinson.

___________________



Readers LOVE the Railway Girls:



'Gripping and intriguing'

'Great story lines'

'Exceptional story . . . a must-read'

'Poignant'

'Emotional . . . strong women'

___________________



Love is in the air, and together the railway girls can overcome even the hardest of times.



Mabel has finally put the past behind her, and her relationship with the dashing Harry is stronger than ever. That is, until an old flame shows up, leaving Mabel questioning her future.



Meanwhile Joan has made amends with Bob - if only she could do the same with Gran. And there's still that family mystery she wants answer to, isn't there?



As a mother and grandmother, Dot Green has always put her family first. Her job as a parcels porter has brought new purpose to her life, so is it finally time to start following her heart . . .



Life as a railway girl is busy but as war rages on and air raids disrupt daily life, the women realise they need each other more than ever, especially when there might be wedding bells on the horizon.

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionSagasFiction & PoetryHistorical FictionWar & combat fictionSecond World War fictionFiction & PoetryRomanceErotic FictionHistorical romanceFiction & PoetryRomanceRomanceHistory & PoliticsMilitary HistorySecond World War Publisher: Cornerstone Publication Date: 15/04/2021 ISBN-13: 9781787463981  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Maisie Thomas was born and brought up in Manchester, which provides the location for her Railway Girls novels. She loves writing stories with strong female characters, set in times when women needed determination and vision to make their mark. The Railway Girls series is inspired by her great aunt Jessie, who worked as a railway clerk during the First World War. Maisie now lives on the beautiful North Wales coast with her railway enthusiast husband, Kevin, and their two rescue cats. They often enjoy holidays chugging up and down the UK's heritage steam railways.

More books by Maisie Thomas

Customer Reviews

The women who worked in the railways of Manchester during the Second World War did more than cover the jobs of those who had gone to fight. They were women who had family, friends and others, and in this latest novel in the Railway Girls series their loves, both obvious and secret, become the focus of the story. Not that it is all romance and peace; the war continues with regular raids in 1941 which threatens everyone in their homes, on the streets and everywhere else. It works well as a standalone novel for anyone who has not read the earlier books, while those who have will recognise the characters. This novel works because it sensitively looks at the relationships of three main characters in the context of what else is going on in their lives. It also deals with the characters who surround them, where they live, who they work with, and the urge to make the most of each day. The author has done an immense amount of work in finding out the big points of what was going on in the area, but also the small details of the women’s lives, the clothes, the dances and much more. Not that the research ever gets in the way of the story; it just helps to establish and maintain the characters and how they feel about themselves and others. This is an excellent read and once begun, will be difficult to put down. I was very pleased to have the opportunity to read and review this novel. The book opens with a sort of flashback to February 1939, as Mabel endures a difficult time in her relationship with her best friend Althea.They are almost like sisters, but two separations mean that a significant problem occurs between them. Those who have read the previous two books in the series will have an extra insight into the after effects of the incident which occurs at the end of the first chapter, which I found very powerful. Meanwhile, back in April 1941 when the rest of the book is set, Joan is forcibly reminded of a family tragedy and a disturbed relationship which will lead to trouble throughout the novel. Although it is alongside her romantic relationship, the effects of a lifetime's questions will run throughout much of this novel. Dot is the busy grandmother and matriarch of a family with typically war time problems, including the absence of adult sons and the question of whether to evacuate children. Not for the first time Dot has occasion to reflect on her own wishes which would seem nearly impossible to act upon. As always this book features the work that the women did as well as the rules they had to obey, alongside the extra risks and challenges of wartime conditions. This is a clever, enjoyable and often positive book of a group of women with their family and friends surviving and thriving in unique circumstances. It does not include the melodrama which features in some novels set in this era, and resolutions of situations are never dragged out. It includes a keen awareness of the social divisions suggested by clothes and other almost unspoken hints, as well as how certain characters can achieve a lot by sheer force of personality. Each character is drawn as an individual with their own identity which is a difficult thing to pull off in a novel of an ensemble of this type. Altogether this is a really enjoyable read and gives a vivid picture of women’s lives in wartime Manchester.

- 15/09/2021
Report this Review

My first foray into this series, and a book I really enjoyed! Mabel is putting the past behind her and and her romance with Harry is thriving - at least, until an old flame makes an appearance and unsettles her. Joan and Bob's relationship is once again on a firm footing - but her estrangement from Gran continues. Dot has always put her family first, but now she has a full-time job her horizons are expanding; is it finally time for her to look after her own needs? I could have sworn that I had read others in this series, but sadly not. However, I had no problems in picking up the story with this third book which makes an excellent stand-alone read. I'm pleased that the details of the previous two aren't repeated - only the necessary details come out as the story progresses. I've never encountered a book about work on the railways during WWII before, and this was enlightening and entertaining. Lots of information I wasn't aware of, all woven into a gripping tale. In particular, the friendships which pulled women together on the home front are heavily featured, and the characters - from all walks of life - are beautifully developed. Experienced writing always shines through and this is a great read and one I'm happy to recommend and give four stars.

- 12/04/2021
Report this Review
Leave Review

Our Christmas Last Posting Dates can be found here
 

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Levant Trilogy: 'Fantastically...
(Paperback)
Olivia Manning
 
 
£12.99
 
The Tulip Tearooms: A compelling saga...
(Paperback)
Pamela Evans
 
 
£8.99
 
Basil's War
(Paperback)
Stephen Hunter
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd