Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Saturday Girls
Foyalty 21

The Saturday Girls (Paperback)

£6.99
Usually despatched within 1 week.

Synopsis

'A book to read in great gulps' Sheila Newberry



'Beautifully written . . . she has a real talent' Mary Gibson



Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Rosie Clarke. If you loved An Education, Good Girls Revolt and Made in Dagenham then this is for you.



It's 1964. England has shaken off its post-war gloom and the world is full of possibilities.



Best friends Sandra and Linda live on a housing estate in Essex. They are aspiring mods: they have the music, the coffee bar and Ready Steady Go! on a Friday night.



Having landed their first jobs, Linda and Sandra look set. But the world is changing rapidly, and both girls have difficult choices to make. As Sandra blindly pursues a proposal, Linda finds herself drawn to causes she knows are worth fighting for.



But when Sandra's quest leads her to local bad boy Danny, she lands both her and Linda in more trouble than they bargained for . . .

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionSagas Publisher: Zaffre Publication Date: 23/08/2018 ISBN-13: 9781785764424  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 1 week. Add to Basket

Elizabeth Woodcraft grew up on a working class housing estate in Essex. She was a mod and worked in the local milk bar. After attending Birmingham University she taught English in Leicestershire and the Loire Valley. Then she worked for the National Women's Aid Federation in London and subsequently read for the Bar. During her time at the Bar, she represented Greenham Common Peace Protesters, Anti-Apartheid demonstrators, striking miners and Clause 28 activists. Now she is a full time writer. Her most recent books are set in the Sixties - mods and rockers, the music of Motown, milk bars and ban-the-bomb marches. With memories of the war and the effects of rationing still being felt, young people are just starting to taste the freedom a little money can bring.

More books by Elizabeth Woodcraft

Customer Reviews

Through out this book, what never failed to fascinate me was this simple fact: I was born in the year 2000, this book is set in the 1960s and yet somehow, Elizabeth Woodcraft was able to craft this novel in such a way that I found myself feeling nostalgic. I can't begin to explain how you can possibly feel nostalgic about a period of time that you have never experienced and yet, somehow, I did. Usually, I am more the type of reader to be invested in plot rather than characters but this book was a game changer for me. I fell in love with the characters regardless of how dramatic, problematic, toxic and faulted they were because ultimately, that is the unfortunate reality of being an undeniably floored human being. I loved these aspects and so many more. I could ramble on forever. So, instead, I'll just say that this book is one hundred percent worth your time and investment so go ahead and pick it up!

- 24/08/2018
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Free
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Dover Cafe Under Fire: A moving...
(Paperback)
Ginny Bell
 
 
£7.99
 
A Daughter's War
(Paperback)
Emma Hornby
 
 
£6.99
 
Listening to the Quiet: A gripping...
(Paperback)
Gloria Cook
 
 
£8.99
 
Workhouse to War 3
(Paperback)
Kay Brellend
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close