Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Saturday Girls
Foyalty 21

The Saturday Girls (Paperback)

£6.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£6.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.

Synopsis

'A book to read in great gulps' Sheila Newberry



'Beautifully written . . . she has a real talent' Mary Gibson



Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Rosie Clarke. If you loved An Education, Good Girls Revolt and Made in Dagenham then this is for you.



It's 1964. England has shaken off its post-war gloom and the world is full of possibilities.



Best friends Sandra and Linda live on a housing estate in Essex. They are aspiring mods: they have the music, the coffee bar and Ready Steady Go! on a Friday night.



Having landed their first jobs, Linda and Sandra look set. But the world is changing rapidly, and both girls have difficult choices to make. As Sandra blindly pursues a proposal, Linda finds herself drawn to causes she knows are worth fighting for.



But when Sandra's quest leads her to local bad boy Danny, she lands both her and Linda in more trouble than they bargained for . . .

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionSagas Publisher: Zaffre Publishing Publication Date: 23/08/2018 ISBN-13: 9781785764424  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Elizabeth Woodcraft grew up on a working class housing estate in Essex. She was a mod and worked in the local milk bar. After attending Birmingham University she taught English in Leicestershire and the Loire Valley. Then she worked for the National Women's Aid Federation in London and subsequently read for the Bar. During her time at the Bar, she represented Greenham Common Peace Protesters, Anti-Apartheid demonstrators, striking miners and Clause 28 activists. Now she is a full time writer. Her most recent books are set in the Sixties - mods and rockers, the music of Motown, milk bars and ban-the-bomb marches. With memories of the war and the effects of rationing still being felt, young people are just starting to taste the freedom a little money can bring.

More books by Elizabeth Woodcraft

Customer Reviews

Through out this book, what never failed to fascinate me was this simple fact: I was born in the year 2000, this book is set in the 1960s and yet somehow, Elizabeth Woodcraft was able to craft this novel in such a way that I found myself feeling nostalgic. I can't begin to explain how you can possibly feel nostalgic about a period of time that you have never experienced and yet, somehow, I did. Usually, I am more the type of reader to be invested in plot rather than characters but this book was a game changer for me. I fell in love with the characters regardless of how dramatic, problematic, toxic and faulted they were because ultimately, that is the unfortunate reality of being an undeniably floored human being. I loved these aspects and so many more. I could ramble on forever. So, instead, I'll just say that this book is one hundred percent worth your time and investment so go ahead and pick it up!

- 24/08/2018
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Twilight Time
(Paperback)
Emma Blair
 
 
£8.99
 
Moonlit Eyes
(Paperback)
Emma Blair
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close