The Secrets of Latimer House - Jules Wake; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Secrets of Latimer House
Foyalty 27

The Secrets of Latimer House (Paperback)

£8.99
UK delivery within 2-3 weeks

Synopsis

In the war against Hitler every secret counts...







'Shines a light on a part of the British war effort I'd previously not been aware of...a fascinating, informative and heartwarming novel, and I loved it' The New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller Jill Mansell

Society heiress Evelyn Brooke-Edwards is a skilled interrogator - her beauty making her a non-threat in the eyes of the prisoners.





Farm girl Betty Connors may not be able to type as she claimed, but her crack analytical skills soon find her unearthing covert connections.





German ex-pat Judith Stern never expected to find herself listening in to German POW's whispered conversations, but the Nazis took her father from her so she will do whatever it takes to help the Allies end this war.





Billeted together in the attic of Latimer House - a place where secrets abound - Evelyn, Betty and Judith soon form a bond of friendship that carries them through the war. Because nothing is stronger than women united.







Tucked away in the Buckinghamshire countryside, Latimer House, a grand country estate, stands proudly - a witness to some of greatest secrets of WW2.









Used by the SOE to hold Nazi prisoners of war, this stunning historical novel is inspired by the untold story of the secret listeners of 'M Room' who worked day and night to help the Allies win the war. A must-read for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Fiona Valpy and Kate Quinn.







Readers love The Secrets of Latimer House:

'Freaking fabulous! Five perfect stars for this perfect book!

...The writing was wowza. So beautifully done. It flowed amazingly and honestly I couldn't tear my eyes from my Kindle' Rubie





'A truly fabulous read, full of drama intrigue and three fabulous characters' Jeanie





'I really enjoy this type of book which brings strong women together in exceptional circumstances, and this one did not disappoint' Angela





'This five-star read is the first historical fiction novel for Jules Wake and I think you'll agree with me it's a real treat for lovers of this genre!!!' Norma





'An excellent WWII-era historical fiction novel that is gripping, suspenseful, and engaging. I really enjoyed it!' Rachel

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionSagasFiction & PoetryRomanceErotic FictionHistorical romanceFiction & PoetryRomanceRomance Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Publication Date: 25/11/2021 ISBN-13: 9780008408985  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: UK delivery within 2-3 weeks Add to Basket

Jules Wake is the internationally bestselling author of over ten books including The Saturday Morning Park Run. She also writes as Julie Caplin and her Romantic Escapes series has hit the bestseller charts around the world. After reading English at the University of East Anglia, Jules Wake worked in PR where she honed her fiction writing skills on press releases. She's now a full-time author and what better job is there than making stuff up! It certainly beats housework.

More books by Jules Wake

Customer Reviews

An exhilarating tale of three young women ‘doing their bit’ for Britain during the second world war. Coming from all walks of life, Betty, Judith and Evelyn find themselves on a level playing field as they begin work in Latimer House where the work is highly confidential and completely unknow between departments and especially to outsiders. Each young woman has hopes and dreams for the future, but first – and more immediate – they want to do all they can to help stop the Nazis and help Britain and the Allies win the war. Latimer House, like Bletchley Park, was bursting with secrets during wartime completely unknown to the greater population, especially those who lived in the area and this is a most intriguing and fascinating tale, based on facts but with fictional characters. Captivating and intriguing, this is a novel which pulled me in from the very beginning. While Jules Wake is an author new to me, I shall certainly be looking out for her work in future. This is a beautifully spun tale, skilfully written and enthralling to the very end, by which everything is neatly finished off, something I really appreciate in any novel. Truly enchanting and, on a more serious note, food for thought resulting in total admiration for a generation who put King and Country before themselves; worth pondering on today’s often selfish society. A sparkling five star read and one I’m happy to recommend.

- 30/08/2021
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Acts of Love and War: A nation torn...
(Paperback)
Maggie Brookes
 
 
£8.99
 
The Stolen Hours
(Hardback)
Karen Swan
 
 
£14.99
 
Vanessa de Haan Untitled Book 2
(Paperback)
Vanessa de Haan
 
 
£8.99
 
Deception
(Paperback)
Joan Aiken
 
£9.99
£8.99
10%
© W&G Foyle Ltd