The Story Keeper: A twisty, atmospheric story of folk tales, family secrets and disappearances - Anna Mazzola; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Story Keeper: A twisty, atmospheric story of folk tales, family secrets and disappearances
Foyalty 57

The Story Keeper: A twisty, atmospheric story of folk tales, family secrets and disappearances (Hardback)

£18.99
Currently unavailable
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

From the author of THE UNSEEING comes a sizzling, period novel of folk tales, disappearances and injustice set on the Isle of Skye, sure to appeal to readers of Hannah Kent's BURIAL RITES or Beth Underdown's THE WITCH FINDER'S SISTER.



'A wonderful combination of a thrilling mystery and a perfectly depicted period piece' Sunday Mirror



Audrey Hart is on the Isle of Skye to collect the folk and fairy tales of the people and communities around her. It is 1857 and the Highland Clearances have left devastation and poverty, and a community riven by fear. The crofters are suspicious and hostile to a stranger, claiming they no longer know their fireside stories.



Then Audrey discovers the body of a young girl washed up on the beach and the crofters reveal that it is only a matter of weeks since another girl disappeared. They believe the girls are the victims of the restless dead: spirits who take the form of birds.



Initially, Audrey is sure the girls are being abducted, but as events accumulate she begins to wonder if something else is at work. Something which may be linked to the death of her own mother, many years before.

Fiction & PoetryCrime & ThrillersFiction & PoetryHistorical FictionMyth & legend told as fiction Publisher: Headline Publishing Group Publication Date: 26/07/2018 ISBN-13: 9781472234780  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Currently unavailable  

Anna Mazzola's first novel, THE UNSEEING, was published to critical acclaim in 2016. She is a criminal justice solicitor and lives in London with her husband and two children.

More books by Anna Mazzola

Customer Reviews

Firstly I have to say just how much I was taken with the beautiful cover of "The Story Keeper", it gave me chills just thinking what mystery and intrigue could lie beneath it and couldn't wait to start reading. "The Story Keeper" is billed as a 'sizzling, period novel of folk tales, disappearances and injustice set on the Isle of Skye' and it was exactly that. I was amazed at how the atmospheric setting and creepy, intriguing start to the story drew me in so fast and from then on in the pages turned themselves to reveal such a beautiful tale, woven with creativity and imagination. With sinister undertones and at times quite scary scenarios involving the local folklore stories, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book from start to finish. It was truly spell binding and unlike any thriller I've ever read before and certainly a one I could easily read again and again and never tire of. I love historical books set in Scotland and knowing the locations mentioned in the story made me feel so at home. The author has done a fantastic job in describing the many different crofters lives and their plight after the Highland Clearances and their constant poverty. It's obvious a lot of research has been carried out for this story and the author has turned this into a truly engaging and well crafted story. There were some quite unsuspecting twists to the conclusion which rapturously held my attention and which were a perfect end to the intriguing story and very fitting. I haven't read Anna Mazzola's previous book "The Unseeing" but I am now very keen to read it and without doubt would certainly read more in the future by this new author to me too. All in all, one fabulously written and imaginative tale that I highly recommend to historical thriller readers young and old, if you love something different then you must read this, you won't be disappointed! 5 stars

- 11/07/2018
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

St George's Day
(Paperback)
Lee Sheridan
 
 
£9.00
 
Ithaca
(Paperback)
Claire North
 
 
£8.99
 
The Embroidered Book
(Paperback)
Kate Heartfield
 
 
£8.99
 
Clytemnestra
(Hardback)
Costanza Casati
 
 
£14.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd