Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Undoing of Arlo Knott
Foyalty 27

The Undoing of Arlo Knott (Paperback)

£8.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

'Brilliantly twisty, thought-provoking stuff - such enjoyable reading' Jenny Colgan



'A moving time-slip romance . . . The Undoing of Arlo Knott is a triumph' Guardian



WHAT IF YOUR LIFE HAD AN 'UNDO' BUTTON?



Arlo Knott develops the mysterious ability to reverse his last action. It makes him able to experience anything, to charm any woman and impress any friend. His is a life free of mistakes, a life without regret.



But second chances aren't all they're cracked up to be. As wonderful as his new life is, a mistake in Arlo's traumatic childhood still haunts him and the temptation to undo, undo and keep undoing could be too much to resist.



'A flawed yet lovable protagonist who is deeply, wonderfully human, and utterly believable' N. J. Crosskey



Mainstream crossover fiction for fans of Matt Haig, Gail Honeyman and Rowan Coleman, from the author of Everything About You.

Fiction & PoetryFantasyFiction & PoetryScience Fiction Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group Publication Date: 01/08/2019 ISBN-13: 9780356510743  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Heather Child's debut novel EVERYTHING ABOUT YOU was partly inspired by having worked in digital marketing, which brought her into close contact with the cutting-edge automation and personalisation technologies that herald the 'big data' age. Her second book, THE UNDOING OF ARLO KNOTT, is about a man who has an 'undo' button for life. Arlo is able to avoid mistakes, to sidestep regret, but it may not give him the perfect life he expects. Heather Child is based in Bristol, UK. Alongside writing she has had an eclectic career in marketing and communications, working for various non-profit organisations. She often takes part in panel discussions, workshops and other events at festivals and conventions. You can find out more about her work, and see discussion questions for book clubs, at www.heather-child.co.uk, or follow her on Twitter at @Heatherika1.

More books by Heather Child

Customer Reviews

Arlo Knott has a talent that defies definition, and therefore understanding. Though painfully normal in every other way, with ambitions, an unfulfilled love, a troublesome sibling and a disappointing dad, Arlo’s secret comes to dominate and shape his life. A family tragedy triggers the realisation, in the most dramatic way possible, that Arlo can, with a small effort, reset time. That he can return to a point before an action, an incident, and do things differently, or ensure that things turn out less badly. This proves to be something he cannot or will not reveal, partly because it sounds so unlikely, defying explanation, and partly he wants to benefit from his unusual talent. His progress through school, university and life is affected by his talent, but he cannot use it as a blunt instrument. He reflects on the effect it has on others, on himself. He carries a burden of guilt, which does not lessen with his experiences. Rather, as he comes to depend on his ability, he becomes concerned on what he is really doing, the effect it has on other people. The complex web that he has to live by has an effect on his world view and his values, but he tries so hard to do his best, avoid trouble, appalled at what he could potentially do, what he may have done. When he experiments with his ability, he realises its limitations but pushes the boundaries. I was fascinated and pleased to be given the opportunity to read and review this book. The book begins with an account of Arlo’s childhood, on a significant day. Distracted for a moment, he fails to secure a ladder and so unwittingly starts a chain of events that will change both his life and that of his family. It is only when he seeks to deal with the effects of this incident that he discovers that he can undo the most significant of acts, simply by will. An accidental discovery, he begins to explore how he can use it to survive in school, finance his university career and influence people. A significant lashing out at fate which he reverses leads to a meeting which will transform not only his life but another unique person. He discovers that while he may be able to reverse things in his life, even flout the laws of safety and common sense, his relationships with those he loves are made even more difficult. His ambitions to do good are not straightforward, and complications always set in. Self doubt may be common among people, but his self doubt has an extra dimension, an extra level of complexity and guilt. This book carefully straddles fantasy and contemporary life, where common situations and tensions in relationships are added to by a unique element. Convoluted yet sensitively written, this is a book for our time in its range despite focusing on one man’s memories. It raises questions not only about a strange concept, but also about human motivation more generally. This is a special and powerful book of love, sadness and the determination to do good for whatever motive. Arlo is a distinctive character, but his inner monologue is a true reflection of the way that we all think at times. Doubting what we do, why we do it and the effect of our behaviour on those around us is a contemporary concern for many if not most people. This sensitive and honest novel deserves to find a wide audience, and I recommend its distinctive voice and honesty.

- 02/09/2019
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £20 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.75 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Click and Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop
Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Dead Lies Dreaming: A Novel of the...
(Paperback)
Charles Stross
 
 
£8.99
 
The Shadow of Things to Come: A Last...
(Hardback)
Tad Williams
 
 
£18.99
 
The Broken God: Book Three of the...
(Paperback)
Gareth Hanrahan
 
 
£9.99
 
Untitled K. S. Villoso
(Paperback)
K. S. Villoso
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close