Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Unforgetting: A spellbinding and atmospheric historical novel
Foyalty 45

The Unforgetting: A spellbinding and atmospheric historical novel (Hardback)

£14.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

A spellbinding historical novel of obsession, the lure of fame, and the power of illusion, perfect for fans of The Binding, The Lost Ones and The Foundling



Her fate was decided. Her death was foretold. Her past is about to be unforgotten...



1851. When Lily Bell is sold by her father to a 'Professor of Ghosts' to settle a bad debt, she dreams of finding fame on the London stage. But Erasmus Salt wants Lily not as an actress, but as his very own ghost - the heart of his elaborate illusion for those desperate for a glimpse of the spirit world . . .



Obsessed with perfection, Erasmus goes to extreme lengths to ensure his illusion is realistic. When Lily comes across her own obituary in the paper, and then her headstones in the cemetery, she realises that she is trapped, her own parents think she is dead, and that her fate is soon to become even darker . . .



***



Readers are entranced by The Unforgetting . . .



'This haunting Victorian novel weaves a spellbinding web of deluded dreams and dark deceptions' Essie Fox



'Evocative and atmospheric, The Unforgetting is a macabre tale of dark obsessions and deadly ambitions, where nothing is quite what it seems' Anita Frank, author of The Lost Ones



'This Victorian gothic fantasy . . . drips with menace' Daily Mail



'A sinister, fast-paced gothic tale' Caitlin Davies, author of Daisy Belle



'This is dark, gothic historical fiction at its best. A tale of obsession, control, illusion and mystery in the Victorian era. Beautifully written, chilling and haunting' The Bookwormery



'This is a book of magic, of women's strength, of the power of love . . . a splendid and brilliantly paced novel' Northern Reader Blog



'A story of obsession and haunting illusions that will leave the reader chilled to the bone . . . this book entraps you [and] bewitches you' Bunny's Pause Blog



'From the very first pages, Black's novel grabs our attention, drawing us into a beautifully evoked, sensory world . . . highly recommended' The Literary Shed

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Film, TV & DramaTheatreTheatre direction & production Publisher: Orion Publishing Co Publication Date: 09/01/2020 ISBN-13: 9781409190615  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Rose Black has written stories all her life. Her long-standing fascination with the Victorians and 19th century England underlies this novel. An award-winning freelance writer, she's covered health, overseas development and education. Married, with two children, she lives partly in London and at other times by the sea. In her spare time, she enjoys wild swimming and growing food and flowers on her allotment.

More books by Rose Black

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.
 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £20 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.75 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Click and Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop
Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs
 

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Engaging with Brecht: Making Theatre...
(Hardback)
Bill Gelber
 
 
£70.00
 
The Great North American Stage...
(Books & other media combined)
James Peck
 
 
£295.00
 
Digital Scenography: 30 Years of...
(Hardback)
Neill O'Dwyer; Joslin McKinney; Scott...
 
 
£75.00
 
Notes on the Writing of A Gentleman's...
(Paperback)
Robert L. Freedman
 
 
£9.95
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close