Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Vanishing
Foyalty 27

The Vanishing (Paperback)

£8.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

'Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but ten times darker, and you have The Vanishing ... as dark and eerie and gothic as the Yorkshire Moors it is set on. One to curl up by the fire with on a windy night' StylistOn top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets. Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester. When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing. Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape...Already a Sunday Times bestselling author with her first novel, The Vanishing confirms Sophia Tobin as a rising star. Stunning, twisting historical fiction for fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier. `Undeniably page-turning' Mail on Sunday `Entertaining' Times `Vivid, absorbing and wonderfully gothic, with shades of Sarah Waters and Emily and Charlotte Bronte' Kate Riordan `Brilliantly Bronte-esque. Perfect reading for a stormy night' Anna Mazzola `A vivid sense of the period ... which stays with the reader long after the final page' the i `The plotting is skilful, with a network of lies being woven so that no one, characters or readers, can be sure of the truth' Daily Express `Atmosphere aplenty and some real surprises' Daily Mail `Echoes Wuthering Heights with its setting and sense of intrigue' Red `An atmospheric tale of betrayal and revenge' woman&home `A thrilling, atmospheric page-turner' Metro



Fiction & PoetryHistorical Fiction Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd Publication Date: 25/01/2018 ISBN-13: 9781471151620  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Sophia Tobin was raised in Kent. She has studied History and History of Art, and worked for a Bond Street antique dealer for six years, specialising in silver and jewellery. She currently works in a library and archive. Inspired by her research into a real eighteenth-century silversmith, Tobin began to write The Silversmith's Wife, which was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize. It was published by Simon & Schuster in 2014. Her second novel, The Widow's Confession, was published in 2015, and her third, The Vanishing, in 2017. Tobin lives in London with her husband.

More books by Sophia Tobin

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery Free Free 3-5 Days
UK First Class £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop Free Free From 2 hours
Click and Collect Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Dark Objects
(Hardback)
Simon Toyne
 
 
£16.99
 
Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
(Paperback)
Dexter Palmer
 
 
£8.99
 
Untitled Charlotte Betts 2
(Paperback)
Charlotte Betts
 
 
£13.99
 
Untitled Eric and Jacques
(Paperback)
Giacometti; Ravenne
 
 
£9.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close