The Whistling: A chilling and original new ghost story - Rebecca Netley; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Whistling: A chilling and original new ghost story
Foyalty 39

The Whistling: A chilling and original new ghost story (Hardback)

£12.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

SEND SHIVERS DOWN YOUR SPINE WITH THIS CHILLING AND GRIPPING STORY SET IN A FAR-FLUNG SCOTTISH ISLAND . . . PERFECT TO CURL UP WITH AS THE NIGHTS DRAW IN



'If you're looking for a chilling tale as we head towards Halloween, you've found it' HEAT

'Chills you to your bones . . . More unsettling and beautiful than you can imagine' 5***** READER REVIEW

________



Alone in the world, Elspeth Swansome takes the position of nanny to a family on the remote Scottish island of Skelthsea.



Her charge, Mary, hasn't uttered a word since the sudden death of her twin, William - just days after their former nanny disappeared.



No one will speak of what happened to William. Just as no one can explain the hypnotic lullabies sung in empty corridors. Nor the strange dolls that appear in abandoned rooms. Nor the faint whistling that comes in the night . . .



As winter draws in and passage to the mainland becomes impossible, Elspeth finds herself trapped.



But is this house haunted by the ghosts of the past?



OR THE SECRETS OF THE LIVING . . . ?

________



Chilling, twisty and emotionally gripping, The Whistling is an atmospheric page-turner with shades of the classics, yet a unique character of its own, perfect for fans of Susan Hill and Laura Purcell



'I was sucked in from page one and read it in one fell swoop' 5***** READER REVIEW



'A wicked twist . . . brilliant, scary, clever. Horror writing at its best' 5***** READER REVIEW



'A great story with moments of heart-grabbing terror, beautifully written' 5***** READER REVIEW

Fiction & PoetryHorror Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd Publication Date: 14/10/2021 ISBN-13: 9780241533994  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Rebecca Netley grew up as part of an eccentric family in a house full of books and music, and these things have fed her passions. Family and writing remain at the heart of Rebecca's life. She lives in Reading with her husband, sons and an over-enthusiastic dog, who gives her writing tips. The Whistling is Rebecca Netley's debut novel and won the Exeter Novel Prize.

More books by Rebecca Netley

Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Frankenstein
(Hardback)
Mary Shelley
 
£14.99
 
The Shape of Darkness
(Paperback)
Laura Purcell
 
 
£8.99
 
The Buried
(Hardback)
Sharon Bolton
 
 
£12.99
 
Younger
(Paperback)
Dani Lamia
 
 
£18.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd