Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls
Foyalty 51

The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls (Hardback)

£16.99
Unavailable. No reason given.
Unavailable

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of The Great Gatsby, Tigers in Red Weather, and Curtis Sittenfield... 1930s America, southern high society: Part love story, part coming-of-age novel, this is the moving, raw and exquisitely vivid story of an uncommon girl navigating a treacherous road to womanhood.



Thea Atwell is fifteen years old in 1930, when, following a scandal for which she has been held responsible, she is 'exiled' from her wealthy and isolated Florida family to a debutante boarding school in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. As Thea grapples with the truth about her role in the tragic events of 1929, she finds herself enmeshed in the world of the Yonahlossee Riding Camp, with its complex social strata ordered by money, beauty and equestrienne prowess; where young women are indoctrinated in the importance of 'female education' yet expected to be married by twenty-one; a world so rarified as to be rendered immune (at least on the surface) to the Depression looming at the periphery, all overseen by a young headmaster who has paid a high price for abandoning his own privileged roots...

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Headline Publishing Group Publication Date: 06/06/2013 ISBN-13: 9780755395170  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Unavailable. No reason given.  

Anton DiSclafani, 30, was raised in northern Florida, where she rode horses, competing nationally. She graduated from Emory University, and received her MFA from Washington University. She currently lives in St. Louis, where she teaches creative writing at Washington University.

More books by Anton DiSclafani

Customer Reviews

This was a surprising story of 1930's depression in America with the main character Thea being sent away to a horsy boarding school after a scandal involving her twin brother and her cousin. Quite racy in parts, the story is told through Thea's eyes who takes the blame for various events, some of which are not her fault. A good historical knowledge is displayed throughout the book,with an obvious empathy towards horsemanship. The title of the book although good is not a true indication of what's inside! The passing of a girl from teenager into womanhood is sympathetically written tackling the issues of incest, class and discrimination of man versus woman. Overall a good read and to be recommended

- 16/06/2013
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Testaments
(Hardback)
Margaret Atwood
 
£20.00
£10.00
50%
The Body's Little Secrets: A Novel
(Paperback)
Geoffrey Beattie
 
 
£9.99
 
Trap, Prey, Lust
(Paperback)
Carolyn Shanti
 
 
£14.99
 
Picking Up The Pieces
(Paperback)
Jo Worgan
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close