This Green and Pleasant Land: Winner of The Diverse Book Awards 2020 - Ayisha Malik; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
This Green and Pleasant Land: Winner of The Diverse Book Awards 2020
Foyalty 27

This Green and Pleasant Land: Winner of The Diverse Book Awards 2020 (Paperback)

£8.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

SHORTLISTED FOR THE DIVERSE BOOK AWARDS

'Tender, challenging and as warm as it was razor-sharp' Beth O'Leary

'If you've read Joanna Cannon I think you'll love this' Simon Savidge

'A sublimely witty and touching story' Jonathan Coe



The standout new novel by acclaimed author Ayisha Malik - perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Candice Carty-Williams.



In the sleepy village of Babel's End, trouble is brewing.



Bilal Hasham is having a mid-life crisis. His mother has just died, and he finds peace lying in a grave he's dug in the garden. His elderly Auntie Rukhsana has come to live with him, and forged an unlikely friendship with village busybody, Shelley Hawking. His wife Mariam is distant and distracted, and his stepson Haaris is spending more time with his real father.



Bilal's mother's dying wish was to build a mosque in Babel's End, but when Shelley gets wind of this scheme, she unleashes the forces of hell. Will Bilal's mosque project bring his family and his beloved village together again, or drive them apart?



Warm, wise and laugh-out-loud funny, This Green and Pleasant Land is a life-affirming look at love, faith and the meaning of home.

Fiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Zaffre Publication Date: 01/10/2020 ISBN-13: 9781785764509  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Ayisha Malik is a writer and editor, living in South London. She holds a BA in English Literature and a First Class MA in Creative Writing. Her novels Sofia Khan is Not Obliged and The Other Half of Happiness, starring 'the Muslim Bridget Jones', were met with great critical acclaim, and Sofia Khan is Not Obliged was chosen as 2019's Cityread book. Ayisha was a WHSmith Fresh Talent Pick, shortlisted for the Asian Women of Achievement Award and Marie Claire's Future Shapers Awards. Ayisha is also the ghost writer for The Great British Bake Off winner, Nadiya Hussain.

More books by Ayisha Malik

Customer Reviews

What does it mean to be English? What does it take to divide a village? How do you build a mosque in a village? These are only a few of the many questions which beset Bilal Hasham as he considers fulfilling his mother’s dying wish to build a mosque in the small village of Babel’s End, while coping with several family crises and his own thoughts about life and death. A contemporary drama comedy in which a small village discovers where its loyalties lie in relation to a friendly family who suddenly become objects of suspicion. Not that everything was exactly peaceful in the village before the crisis; “Tom’s bush” is overgrowing the road, the vicar thinks of his sermons while on a treadmill, and the local group of young men have been causing trouble with tragic results. This is a touching and engaging story of women with strong views, men living with confusion, and some younger people who struggle. I found it a lovely read with some brilliant characters, including the bewildered Bilal, the lovely Khala or Auntie that comes to live with the family, and the strident Shelley. It is beautifully plotted with twists and turns that work so well as emerging from the characters. The idea of building a mosque in the village really sorts out the people of the village, even between married couples, and the book really flows well navigating between deep emotions and near farce. As language, culture and feelings emerge in this effective book, I was so pleased to have the opportunity to read and review this book. The book begins with the death of Sakeen, as she considers her life and knows that after her husband left her she had to learn to understand. After her death, Bilal returns to his village where he realises “Even now, years after moving to the village, the absurdity of its trials didn’t cease to surprise Bilal.” Sure enough there are those, led by Shelley in her dominating way, who are creating a fuss about an overgrown bush. When Bilal timidly suggests his idea of building a mosque, strong emotions are released. Mariam, his wife, was another woman abandoned soon after marriage, also leaving her with a son who becomes Bilal’s stepson. She is insecure and seeks help from self help videos, especially when her ex husband reappears on the scene. Rukhsana is the hapless aunt who lost a much loved husband and has since lived with Sakeen, now having moved to Babel’s End, but who discovers that she cannot speak enough English to get on with the villages, but strikes up an unusual friendship with an unlikely individual. Richard is the vicar, but has many inner debates about faith, about helping sort out the village’s disputes and his relationship with Alice. I really enjoyed this book as it represents a picture of life in a village where there is a lot going on, and a person in the shape of Bilal who is struggling to make sense of a bewildering set of circumstances. It deals with some big questions of life, faith and the nature of love, but also fits in some jokes and well observed complex characters. It could be seen as a light read on some levels, but it also includes some deeply affecting moments as individuals try to discover what is truly important for them. I recommend this skillfully written and enjoyable book for its characters and the situations that they find themselves in as offering a view of contemporary life.

- 06/10/2020
Report this Review
Leave Review

Our Christmas Last Posting Dates can be found here
 

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Gifted
(Paperback)
Nikita Lalwani
 
 
£8.99
 
The Vanishing Half
(Hardback)
Brit Bennett
 
£14.99
£12.99
13%
The Binding
(Paperback)
Bridget Collins
 
£8.99
£6.99
22%
The Levant Trilogy: 'Fantastically...
(Paperback)
Olivia Manning
 
 
£12.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd