Wartime with the Cornish Girls (The Cornish Girls Series) - Betty Walker; | Foyles Bookstore
Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Wartime with the Cornish Girls (The Cornish Girls Series)
Foyalty 24

Wartime with the Cornish Girls (The Cornish Girls Series) (Paperback)

£7.99
UK delivery within 2-3 weeks

Synopsis

1941. The Blitz rages over London.





And even in Cornwall, the war is being fought...







When Violet loses her sister in the Blitz, she must take her nieces to safety in Cornwall. On the coast, she meets carefree chorus girl Eva, who is also running from the dangers of London.





But Porthcurno hides a secret military base, and soon Violet and Eva realise there's a battle to fight in Cornwall, too.





Together with local Hazel, who works on the base, they must come together to help the war effort. But will their friendship be enough to keep them safe?







The perfect uplifting wartime read for fans of Nancy Revell and Donna Douglas.







Praise for the Cornish Girls:

'I was totally blown away! I am so invested in these women that I must read the next book!' NetGalley reviewer





'A fascinating story, beautifully written, with interesting characters I really liked. A most enjoyable read!' Kitty Neale, Sunday Times bestselling author of A Daughter's Ruin





'Charming and exciting - this book had me hooked! I can't wait for the next in the series!' NetGalley reviewer





'A warm-hearted story - at times I laughed and at others I held my breath ... I loved the characters and I'm delighted it is the first in a series' Pam Weaver, Sunday Times bestselling author of Goodnight Sweetheart





'The perfect mix of light and dark - there wasn't a dull moment!' NetGalley reviewer





'This is the first in a series, which is great news for fans of Betty Walker and the Cornish Girls!' Historical Novel Society

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionSagasFiction & PoetryHistorical FictionWar & combat fictionSecond World War fictionFiction & PoetryRomanceErotic FictionHistorical romanceFiction & PoetryRomanceRomance Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Publication Date: 05/08/2021 ISBN-13: 9780008400286  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: UK delivery within 2-3 weeks Add to Basket

Betty Walker lives in Cornwall with her large family, where she enjoys gardening and coastal walks. She loves discovering curious historical facts, and devotes much time to investigating her family tree. She also writes bestselling contemporary thrillers as Jane Holland.

More books by Betty Walker

Customer Reviews

This book appeals on two main things - women during wartime, and getting in on the ground floor of a new series. Violet has already lost her sister to the war; with their father in the forces she is responsible for the safety of her two nieces and London is not a safe place, so she takes them to stay with family in Cornwall where she meets Eva, former chorus girl, also seeking somewhere safer than the capital city. Hazel is living in Porthcurno, where there is a secret base. With all three women working there, they join together to help the war effort - but will that be enough to keep them all safe? I've read a lot of World War II domestic fiction, but this one is different in that it's not set in London but rather on the Cornish coast which gives it a whole new feel. There is a lot going on, and it is all rather thrilling! With more to this story than these three women, there is never a dull moment. In addition to the domestic side of things, there is also the constraint of working under the official secrets act and the author produces a beautifully written, gripping novel with a few surprises along the way. Thoroughly enjoyable, and I'm already looking forward to the second book. 4.5* and my recommendation for this one!

- 29/04/2021
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

 

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

 

Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe Airmail** £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

Given the unfolding situation across Ukraine, with regret we have now suspended orders placed from, or to be delivered to, both Russia and Ukraine. Thank you for your patience and understanding. 

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.
 

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

The Levant Trilogy: 'Fantastically...
(Paperback)
Olivia Manning
 
 
£12.99
 
Untitled Rachel Seiffert 1
(Hardback)
Rachel Seiffert
 
 
£18.99
 
Summer at Seastone
(Paperback)
Judith Lennox
 
 
£9.99
 
The Wedding Dress Sewing Circle
(Paperback)
Jennifer Ryan
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd