Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
What Was Lost
Foyalty 27

What Was Lost (Paperback)

£8.99
Despatched in 2 business days.
£8.99
Click & Collect
In stock in 1 or more stores.
Check Stock

Synopsis

Sarah has no memories. She just knows she was found, near death, on a beach miles from her London home. Now she is part of a medical experiment to see whether her past can be retrieved. But bad things seem to have happened before she disappeared. The police are interested in her hidden memories too. A kind man she meets by chance seems to have her best interests at heart, seems to understand her, almost as if he knows her... As she fights to regain her memories and her sense of self, it is clear that people are hiding things from her. Who are they protecting? Does Sarah really want the truth?

Fiction & PoetryCrime & Thrillers Publisher: The Dome Press Publication Date: 13/09/2018 ISBN-13: 9781999855963  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Despatched in 2 business days. Add to Basket

More books by Jean Levy

Customer Reviews

"What Was Lost" by debut author Jean Levy is the ideal psychological mystery for fans of SJ Watson and Paula Hawkins and I for one thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I was instantly intrigued by the storyline - Children's writer Sarah Blake is found unconscious, bloodied and frozen on a beach miles from home. However, she has also lost her memory and can only recall fragments of memories prior to being a young child. The police are also interested into how she ended up there and with specialists trying to help her retrieve her memory about what happened prior to being found........ are things best left forgotten?? Some of the neuroscience terminology did pass me by a little but it's obvious the author has intelligently used her own knowledge and a tonne of research in the story to create a professionally written, unsettling psychological story. Using a possible frighteningly realistic scenario and an unreliable narrator in Sarah, who can't recall whether her memories are real or not, we are treated to a fantastic thriller that had me hooked from the very beginning. I also liked that a lot of the setting of the story was based around an author and the publishing industry and along with interspersed chapters going back to Sarah's time before the 'incident', this made for a very entertaining and enjoyable read. Debut author Jane Levy is definitely an author to watch out for, her study of creative writing certainly shines through and for a first time novel this really is a cracking book. Confronting mental health issues, memory loss and PTSD and with a storyline that keeps you guessing till the very last line this will appeal to many readers young and old. Exceedingly well written, I'd have no hesitation in recommending this intriguing and compelling thriller. Perhaps a little too much detail on the medical side for me (though not necessarily a bad thing) it didn't however effect my overall enjoyment of this absorbing story and I would love to read more by this very capable author again in the future. 4.5 stars.

- 05/09/2018
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

XYZT
(Paperback)
Kristen Alvanson; Robin Mackay
 
 
£18.99
 
The Parentations
(Paperback)
Kate Mayfield
 
 
£9.99
 
The Sign of Four
(Paperback)
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
 
 
£5.99
 
Cold Wrath
(Hardback)
Peter Turnbull
 
 
£20.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close