Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
Where Roses Never Die
Foyalty 27

Where Roses Never Die (Paperback)

£8.99
To Order. Estimated despatch in 1-3 weeks.
Email me when back in stock

Synopsis

September 1977. Mette Misvaer, a three-year-old girl disappears without trace from the sandpit outside her home. Her tiny, close middle-class community in the tranquil suburb of Nordas is devastated, but their enquiries and the police produce nothing. Curtains twitch, suspicions are raised, but Mette is never found.



Almost 25 years later, as the expiry date for the statute of limitations draws near, Mette's mother approaches PI Varg Veum, in a last, desperate attempt to find out what happened to her daughter. As Veum starts to dig, he uncovers an intricate web of secrets, lies and shocking events that have been methodically concealed. When another brutal incident takes place, a pattern begins to emerge...

Chilling, shocking and full of extraordinary twists and turns, Where Roses Never Die reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost thriller writers.



'Mature and captivating' Herald Scotland



`One of the finest Nordic novelists - in the tradition of Henning Menkell' Barry Forshaw, Independent



`Masterful pacing' Publishers Weekly



`Norwegian master Staalesen is an author who eschews police procedural narratives for noirish private eye pieces' Financial Times



`Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors and this is a series with very sharp teeth' Ian Rankin



`A Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbo



`One of Norway's most skilful storytellers' Johan Theorin

Fiction & PoetryCrime & ThrillersClassic crimeFiction & PoetryFiction in translation Publisher: Orenda Books Publication Date: 01/06/2016 ISBN-13: 9781910633090  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: To Order. Estimated despatch in 1-3 weeks.  

One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway, in 1947. He made his debut at the age of twenty-two with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over twenty titles, which have been published in twenty-four countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Espen Seim. Staalesen has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour) and Where Roses Never Die won the 2017 Petrona Award for crime fiction. He lives with his wife in Bergen. Don Bartlett completed an MA in Literary Translation at the University of East Anglia in 2000 and has since worked with a wide variety of Danish and Norwegian authors, including Jo Nesbo and Gunnar Staalesen's Varg Veum series: We Shall Inherit the Wind, Wolves in the Dark and the Petrona award-winning Where Roses Never Die. He also translated Faithless, the previous book in Kjell Ola Dahl's Oslo Detective series for Orenda Books. He lives with his family in a village in Norfolk

More books by Gunnar Staalesen

More books by Don Bartlett

Customer Reviews

Suspenseful, intriguing and chilling - words that come instantly to mind when describing this gripping book - I thoroughly enjoyed "Where Roses Never Die" the 18th instalment in the Norwegian series featuring private investigator Varg Veum. This series has been around for many, many years and is obviously very successful to get to book number 18! Quite easily read as a standalone too, as this was my first venture into the series, I had no problems grasping Varg's history and with individual storylines to each book these make for fabulous and intriguing reading. In September 1977, three year old Mette Misvaer disappears without trace from the sandpit outside her family home. In a last ditch attempt before the statue of limitations comes into force, Mette's mother hires Varg in a desperate plea to find out what actually happened to her twenty five years ago. Can Varg break through the secrets and lies that have stayed hidden for so long and can he discover the truth behind Mette's disappearance. As a mother myself, the storyline is one you most fear as a parent but it was handled diplomatically without distressing the reader. Three years after the death of his long term girlfriend, Varg is still a broken-hearted mess, reliant on alcohol and the odd P.I. job to pay the bills. Flawed, but very likeable I couldn't help but fall in love with his character and his perseverance in getting to the truth and breaking people down to reveal their innermost secrets. It did take me a while to get used to the characters names and how they all fitted into the story but once I did the story flowed seamlessly at a steady pace, thick with intrigue and was very easy to follow. Written by hugely talented Gunnar Staalesen and expertly translated by Don Bartlett I can't recommend this book enough, a shocking, outstanding plot that's traditional and classic and keeps the reader guessing till the very end. LOVED it!! 5 stars

- 26/02/2018
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Night Watch
(Hardback)
David C. Taylor
 
 
£20.99
 
Malice Aforethought
(Hardback)
Francis Iles
 
 
£9.99
 
The Case of Miss Elliott: The ...
(Paperback)
Baroness Orczy
 
 
£8.99
 
Three Month Fever: The Andrew Cunanan...
(Paperback)
Gary Indiana; Christopher Glazek
 
 
£16.50
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close