Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
While Paris Slept: A powerful novel of love, survival and the endurance of hope
Foyalty 45

While Paris Slept: A powerful novel of love, survival and the endurance of hope (Hardback)

£14.99
Pre-order for despatch on publication.

Synopsis

On a platform in Paris, a woman whispers goodbye.

It is the end.

But also the beginning.



In the tradition of Virginia Bailey's Early One Morning and M. L. Stedman's The Light Between Oceans, a beautiful, powerful and unforgettable portrait of the brutality of war and the tenacity of love.



1953. Jean-Luc is a man on the run from his past. The scar on his face a small price to pay for surviving the horrors of Nazi occupation. Now, he has a new life in California, a family. He never expected the past to come knocking on his door.



Paris 1944. A young Jewish woman's past is torn away in a heartbeat. Herded on to a train bound for Auschwitz, in an act of desperation she entrusts her most precious possession to a stranger. All she has left now is hope.



On a darkened platform two destinies become entangled. Their choice will change the future in ways neither could have imagined.



Beginning on an ordinary day and ending on an extraordinary one, WHILE PARIS SLEPT will move you and remind you of the remarkable wire of resilience threaded through the human soul.

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionWar & combat fictionSecond World War fictionFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945 Publisher: Headline Publishing Group Publication Date: 20/02/2021 ISBN-13: 9781472267962  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Pre-order for despatch on publication. Pre-Order

Ruth Druart grew up on the Isle of Wight, moving away at the age of eighteen to study psychology at Leicester University. She has lived in Paris since 1993, where she has followed a career in teaching. She has recently taken a sabbatical, so that she can follow her dream of writing full-time.

More books by Ruth Druart

Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery Free Free 3-5 Days
UK First Class £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop Free Free From 2 hours
Click and Collect Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Northern Spy
(Hardback)
Flynn Berry
 
 
£12.99
 
Code Name Helene : Inspired by the...
(Paperback)
Ariel Lawhon
 
 
£8.99
 
We Germans
(Paperback)
Alexander Starritt
 
 
£8.99
 
Liberation: Inspired by the ...
(Paperback)
Imogen Kealey
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close