Close
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Search
You, Me and the Movies
Foyalty 24

You, Me and the Movies (Paperback)

£7.99
Usually despatched within 2 days.

Synopsis

Mac laughed. 'Do you want to come for a coffee with me? Maybe a muffin?'

The word 'muffin' had never sounded so sexually charged before. I liked it.

'Ok,' I said, and I knew exactly where it would lead.

________



When Arden meets Mac she quickly falls for the handsome, charismatic film lecturer. Their love is the sort you see in movies: dramatic, exciting and all-consuming... and complicated.



A love like theirs could never last.



But years later, whilst visiting a friend in hospital, Arden sees the one face she could never forget. Badly injured, Mac can only make brief references to the classic films they once watched together. Which is all it takes for Arden to remember everything...



Will Arden ever find a movie-worthy love again?



Unique and true-to-life, You, Me and the Movies is a love story like no other. Perfect for fans of David Nicholls, Jojo Moyes and Richard Curtis films this book will leave you crying big, fat tears of joy and sadness.

________



What everyone is saying about You, Me and the Movies:



'Moving and emotional' Eva Woods, bestselling author of How to be Happy



'I LOVED THIS BOOK!! You, Me and The Movies is beautifully crafted, funny, uplifting and guaranteed to leave you smiling!!! This is one of those BIG WONDERFUL books that pulls you in and doesn't let you go until the very last page.' Lauren North, author of THE PERFECT BETRAYAL



'Imagine "One Day" with movies'



'It's a feel good story, a great holiday read...'



'I can't begin to say how much I LOVED this book. It had me laughing, falling in love and ultimately crying.'



'A gorgeous, unique and lovely read.'



'I loved this book... it would make a great Richard Curtis movie'



'Pulls you in and doesn't let you go until the very last page'



'It's feel-good, poignant and very, very funny'



'It made me laugh, cry and want to watch lots more old movies'



'Nostalgic and lovely and just leaves you with a warm feeling'



'Wow! No other words but wow what a story! ... this is my most favourite book of Fiona's to date... I wasn't expecting to feel such emotion for the characters and the plot.'



'This is a wonderful book that shows how our past shapes what comes in our future, and I found it charming and incredibly poignant... this beautiful story really touched my soul.'



'I'm an absolute mess. This is a beautiful novel. Completely unexpected... I was captured by the now and then aspect of the story... I'm off now to re-watch The Way We Were.'

Fiction & PoetryHistorical FictionFiction & PoetryModern & contemporary fiction post c 1945Fiction & PoetryRomanceRomanceAdult & contemporary romance Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd Publication Date: 10/09/2019 ISBN-13: 9780552176385  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 days. Add to Basket

Fiona Collins grew up in an Essex village and after stints in Hong Kong and London returned to the Essex countryside where she lives with her husband and three children. She has a degree in Film and Literature and has had many former careers including TV presenting in Hong Kong, traffic and weather presenter for BBC local radio and film/TV extra. You can find her on Twitter @FionaJaneBooks.

More books by Fiona Collins

Customer Reviews

Arden Hall is a woman whose has certainly lived. Or has she? When she makes a discovery on a hospital ward it means that everything she has believed needs rethinking. So far, so normal for a novel. What makes this novel standout is the films, the memories that are evoked of a love, a year and a half of loving someone. This is a novel in which entire crucial conversations can take place in films; well known, lingering images in the mind which just hit the spot. Arden has watched The List of films with a special man - Mac - and she can never forget. Laughter and tears, romance and hurt, love and regret, everything is in a novel that keeps the reader enthralled. As it flips from a remembered love to an intense present, this a celebration of film and love. I was delighted to have the opportunity to read and review this entertaining novel. Arden has escaped from an abusive relationship and is in a job which she finds predictable, despite the fact that it is in television. Her son Julian is still close to her, but she has avoided other friendships, even with Becky, who she has known since university. It is on a rare occasion that she agrees to visit another friend when she recognises another patient, Mac Bartley - Thomas. She was eighteen when they originally met, and in alternating chapters she remembers their relationship at Warwick University. It was founded on the films that they watched together, as he was a lecturer in Film Studies. Being badly injured in a road accident has left Mac virtually unable to speak, but at the end of every visit he manages a brief reference to a film on the List they watched. They enjoyed Fatal Attraction, Casablanca, and others, as she comments on the feminist implications as they enjoy their intense meetings. Arden is desperate for their relationship, especially as she struggled with her own family. Her mother has styled herself as “Marilyn” as in Monroe, and is an incredibly demanding woman. Having been named for a character in a Monroe film, Arden has survived her difficult childhood partly through obsessively watching films, and it is partly because of her interest that she targets Mac. As she recalls that happy time, their adventures together and the need for secrecy, she contrasts their affair with her marriage to the controlling Christian, and how she changed as a person. She meets James, a neighbour of Mac’s and begins to enjoy her regular hospital visits, especially as she finds purpose in her life with the reminders of the special films Mac briefly alludes to at the end of each visit. It is the films which provide much of the power to this novel, as each one has special resonance for an aspect of Arden’s life, both then and now. This is a funny, sometimes moving book, which handles both time periods particularly successfully. It is easy to believe in the fashionable student, enjoying an illicit relationship with a married man, and the sad, disappointed woman she has become as a result of relationships which could never replace the first heady love. This is an enjoyable and and entertaining read, and I thoroughly recommend it to those who are fond of twentieth century films as well as sparky romance.

- 05/01/2020
Report this Review
Leave Review

Delivery

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery Free Free 3-5 Days
UK First Class £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop Free Free From 2 hours
Click and Collect Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Special delivery items

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Animator's Survival Kit

For delivery charges for the Animator's Survival Kit please click here.

 

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Adult Virgins Anonymous
(Paperback)
Nicole Burstein
 
 
£8.99
 
The Sight of You: the love story of...
(Paperback)
Holly Miller
 
 
£7.99
 
The Switch
(Paperback)
Beth O'Leary
 
 
£7.99
 
I Give It A Year: A funny, uplifting...
(Paperback)
Helen Whitaker
 
 
£8.99
 
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close