Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
The North Carolina Symphony: A History
Foyalty 96

The North Carolina Symphony: A History (Paperback)

Usually despatched within 2 weeks.


From its beginnings during the Great Depression, the North Carolina Symphony has touched the lives of countless Tar Heels. One of the state's premier cultural organizations and the oldest continuously state-supported orchestra in the nation, the "Suitcase Symphony" grew from a small group of volunteer players to the world-class orchestra it is today. This book details the contributions of founder Lamar Stringfield, longtime conductor Benjamin Swalin and his wife, Maxine, current music director Grant Llewellyn, and other leaders of this iconic institution. The authors place the symphony's story for the first time in the context of North Carolina's cultural history and, in the process, reveal much about the musical traditions of the "Sahara of the Bozart" and about the trials and triumphs of maintaining a state symphony orchestra.

History & PoliticsMusic & DanceSheet MusicOrchestras Publisher: McFarland & Co Inc Publication Date: 30/04/2019 ISBN-13: 9781476670621  Details: Type: Paperback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 weeks. Add to Basket

Joe A. Mobley taught history at North Carolina State University after retiring from the North Carolina Office of Archives and History. He has authored a number of articles and twelve books, received a North Carolinian Book Award for best book on the state's history, and served as president of both the North Carolina Literary and Historical Association and the Historical Society of North Carolina. He lives in Raleigh, North Carolina. CDR John W. Lambert, USN Ret., has written music reviews and articles for numerous publications and is currently executive editor of CVNC: An Online Arts Journal in North Carolina, as well as serving on the production team of Classical Voice North America. He has received the Raleigh Medal of Arts, the Durham Symphony's "Share the Music" Award, and an Indy Week Triangle arts citation. He lives in Raleigh, North Carolina.

More books by Joe A. Mobley

More books by John W. Lambert

Leave Review


Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £20 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.75 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.75 £0.00 1-2 Days
Click and Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop
Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Handmade Electronic Music: The Art of...
Nicolas Collins
Musical Improvisation and Open Forms...
Gianmario Borio; Angela Carone
The Karl Muck Scandal - Classical...
Melissa D. Burrage
Rethinking Reich
Sumanth Gopinath; Pwyll ap Sion
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close