Measure: In Pursuit of Musical Time - Marc D. Moskovitz; | Foyles Bookstore
Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Measure: In Pursuit of Musical Time
Foyalty 60

Measure: In Pursuit of Musical Time (Hardback)

Pre-order for despatch on publication.


While our modern concepts of musical time and tempo have been largely shaped by the metronome, musicians have long depended on a variety of methods, including the use of hands and feet, the incorporation of markings and pendulums. Measure: In Pursuit of Musical Time tells the fascinating story of musical timekeeping, beginning in an age before the existence of external measuring devices and continuing to the present-day use of the smartphone app.

The book opens with a consideration of Renaissance images that inform our early understanding of the physical gestures associated with musical timekeeping. Early music treatises provide a first-hand glimpse into a musical world when timekeeping was bound up with motions of the body and the pulsing of the human heart. The adoption of the simple pendulum and the incorporation of tempo-related language profoundly altered the musical landscape. Such approaches allowed composers to communicate ideas about speed and slowness with increasing precision. Yet neither language nor the pendulum's natural swing proved sufficient to meet the needs of a changing musical world.

Enter the metronome, a device that ultimately allowed musicians to consider musical time in real time. A triumph of innovation, the metronome was celebrated by many as the fulfillment of a centuries-long search. Yet not everyone was convinced of its benefits. From Beethoven to Ligeti, the book looks to a number of influential composers who have used or refused this revolutionary machine.

Measure: In Pursuit of Musical Time follows a host of brilliant polymaths, trailblazing musicians and intrepid inventors in search of ever more accurate and practical ways to measure and master one of music's most critical and challenging aspects.

Music & DanceMusic BooksMusic: styles & genresWestern 'classical' musicScience & MathematicsPhysicsClassical mechanicsScience & MathematicsScience: general issuesHistory of science Publisher: Boydell & Brewer Ltd Publication Date: 23/09/2022 ISBN-13: 9781783276615  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Pre-order for despatch on publication. Pre-Order

MARC D. MOSKOVITZ is the author of Alexander Zemlinsky: A Lyric Symphony and co-author of Beethoven's Cello: Five Revolutionary Sonatas and Their World, both published by the Boydell Press. He has contributed program notes to orchestras and opera houses in the United States, Germany, Spain and China and entries for The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. A dedicated teacher and performer, Moskovitz also serves as principal cellist of the ProMusica Columbus Chamber Orchestra.

More books by Marc D. Moskovitz

Leave Review

Our Christmas Last Posting Dates can be found here

Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.


Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 2-3 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop


Free Free Click and Collect and Delivery to Store is available for all our shops. Collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.
Please wait for order arrival confirmation email before making a journey to collect.
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail*** £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

*** We are currently unable to delivery to the following countries - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ghana, Iraq, Lebanon, Macao, Pakistan, Puerto Rico, Saint Barthelemy, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Virgin Island US

For goods delivered outside of the UK, the consignee (ie the person to whom the consignment is sent) will be the declarant and importer into the country for which the consignment is destined. The consignee will be responsible for both customs clearance and payment of customs duties and local taxes where required.

Customs Charges - if you are ordering goods for delivery outside of the UK, please note that your consignment may be subject to VAT (Value Added Tax), other taxes, customs duties and/or fees levied by the destination country. Any such charges levied in relation to customs clearance must be borne by you. It is accepted by you that Foyles has no control over additional charges in relation to customs clearance. Foyles recommend that you check with your local customs officials or post office for more information regarding importation taxes/duties that may be applicable to your online order.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Heretical Quodlibets
Vladimir Godar; David McLean
Musick's Delight on the Modern ...
Robin Alexander Lucas
Beethoven in Russia: Music and Politics
Frederick W. Skinner
Beethoven in Russia: Music and Politics
Frederick W. Skinner
© W&G Foyle Ltd