Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Musical AKAs: Assumed Names and Sobriquets of Composers, Songwriters, Librettists, Lyricists, Hymnists and Writers on Music
Foyalty 288

Musical AKAs: Assumed Names and Sobriquets of Composers, Songwriters, Librettists, Lyricists, Hymnists and Writers on Music (Hardback)

Usually despatched within 2 weeks.


There are many reasons for musical artists to write or compose under an assumed name: be it hiding or drawing attention to their ethnicity or gender, pursuing an additional career or genre, or writing a parody or humorous music. Often, nicknames are assigned to composers and lyricists, whether they want them or not. Whatever the reasons for these artists to use assumed names instead of or in addition to their own, this comprehensive resource has amassed and cataloged them. Musical AKAs is a wide-ranging index of assumed names and sobriquets of approximately 9,800 composers, songwriters, lyricists, librettists, hymnists, and writers of music. More than 15,000 assumed names-whether legal name changes, pseudonyms, pen names, or nicknames-have been collected into one easy to reference listing. Author Jeanette Drone has assembled information from numerous music sources-including comprehensive and biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias, biographies, journals, Internet web sites, and print and online copyright sources-and organized them into this extensive four-part volume. Part I alphabetically lists the sources in which assumed names or sobriquets were found for three or more individuals. Part II lists alphabetically the original names of artists from both popular and classical music, detailing their assumed names and sobriquets, dates, occupations, source codes, and complete bibliographic citations for print and Internet sources. The pseudonyms are cataloged alphabetically in Part III, with references to the original names. Musical AKAs concludes with Part IV, offering additional explanatory information on both original and assumed names.

Music & DanceMusic Books Publisher: Scarecrow Press Publication Date: 14/11/2006 ISBN-13: 9780810857391  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Usually despatched within 2 weeks. Login for Quick Checkout Add to Basket

Jeanette Marie Drone is the author of Musical Theater Synopses: An Index (Scarecrow Press, 1998) and Index to Opera, Operetta and Musical Comedy Synopses in Collections and Periodicals (Scarecrow Press, 1978).

More books by Jeanette Marie Drone

Leave Review


Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
UK Standard Delivery FREE FREE 3-5 Days
UK First Class £4.50 £1.00 1-2 Days
UK Courier £7.00 £1.00 1-2 Days
Western Europe** Courier £17.00 £3.00 2-3 Days
Western Europe** Airmail £5.00 £1.50 4-14 Days
USA / Canada Courier £20.00 £3.00 2-4 Days
USA / Canada Airmail £7.00 £3.00 4-14 Days
Rest of World Courier £22.50 £3.00 3-6 Days
Rest of World Airmail £8.00 £3.00 7-21 Days

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Delivery Help & FAQs

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Paper Rockstars
Advancing Music Education in Northern...
David G. Hebert; Torunn Bakken Hauge
An Introduction to Music Technology
Dan Hosken
Sampling Techniques: Pensado's Strive...
Yeuda Ben-Atar
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close