Enter your search into one or more of the boxes below:
You can refine your search by selecting from any of the options below:
Notes for Violists: A Guide to the Repertoire
Foyalty 243

Notes for Violists: A Guide to the Repertoire (Hardback)

Pre-order for despatch on publication.


Notes for Violists: A Guide to the Repertoire offers historical and analytical information about thirty-five of the best-known pieces for the instrument, making it an essential resource for professional, amateur, and student violists alike. With engaging prose supported by fact-filled analytical charts, the book offers rich biographical information and insightful analyses that help violists gain a more complete understanding of pieces like Bela

Bartok's Concerto for Viola and Orchestra, Rebecca Clarke's Sonata for Viola and Piano, Robert Schumann's Marchenbilder for Viola and Piano, op. 113, Carl Stamitz's Concerto for Viola and Orchestra in D Major, Igor Stravinsky's Elegie for Viola or Violin Unaccompanied, and thirty other masterpieces.

This comprehensive guide to key pieces from the viola repertoire from the eighteenth through the twentieth century covers concertos, chamber pieces, and works for solo viola by a wide range of composers, including Bach, Telemann, Mozart, Hoffmeister, Walton, and Hindemith. Author David M. Bynog not only offers clear structural analyses of these compositions but also situates them in their historical contexts as he highlights crucial biographical information on composers and explores the

circumstances of the development and performance of each work. By connecting performance studies with scholarship, this indispensable handbook for students and professionals allows readers to gain a more complete picture of each work and encourages them to approach other compositions in a similarly

analytical manner.

Film, TV & DramaPerforming Arts except MusicMusic & DanceSheet MusicString instruments NOT Guitar Publisher: Oxford University Press Inc Publication Date: 04/03/2021 ISBN-13: 9780190916107  Details: Type: Hardback Format: Books
Availability: Pre-order for despatch on publication. Pre-Order

David M. Bynog enjoys a diverse musical career as performer, researcher, and educator. A former Editor of the Journal of the American Viola Society, he established the sheet-music publishing branch of the American Viola Society in 2010 and has edited more than forty compositions for publication. Currently the Head of Acquisitions at Fondren Library, Rice University, he holds degrees from Louisiana State University and Rice University.

More books by David M. Bynog

Leave Review


Delivery Options

All delivery times quoted are the average, and cannot be guaranteed. These should be added to the availability message time, to determine when the goods will arrive. During checkout we will give you a cumulative estimated date for delivery.

Location 1st Book Each additional book Average Delivery Time
Free UK Standard Delivery on Orders Over £25 (2nd Class)     3-5 Days
UK Standard Delivery (2nd Class) £2.99 £0.00 3-5 Days
UK 1st Class Delivery £3.99 £0.00 1-2 Days

Click & Collect / 
Delivery to a Foyles Bookshop

Click here for further information on Click & Collect during lockdown

Free Free From 2 hours - Individual item delivery times given at checkout
UK Courier* £7.95 £0.00 1 Working Day
Western Europe**Airmail £9.00 £1.00 7-8 Days
Rest of World Airmail £12.50 £1.00 7-10 Days

* For courier service please contact the Charing Cross Road store

** Includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Click and Collect is available for all our shops; collection times will vary depending on availability of items. Individual despatch times for each item will be given at checkout.

Delivery Help & FAQs

A Year of Books Subscription Packages 

Delivery is free for the UK. Western Europe costs £60 for each 12 month subscription package purchased. For the Rest of the World the cost is £100 for each package purchased. All delivery costs are charged in advance at time of purchase. For more information please visit the A Year of Books page.

Returns Information

If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase*, you may return it to us in its original condition with in 30 days of receiving your delivery or collection notification email for a refund. Except for damaged items or delivery issues the cost of return postage is borne by the buyer. Your statutory rights are not affected.

* For Exclusions and terms on damaged or delivery issues see Returns Help & FAQs

You might also like

Bill Frisell, Beautiful Dreamer: How...
Philip Watson
Guitar Strumming Patterns:...
(Spiral spine)
Jake Jackson; Phil Dawson
Lev's Violin: An Italian Adventure
Helena Attlee
Notes for Violists: A Guide to the...
David M. Bynog
© W&G Foyle Ltd
Foyles uses cookies to help ensure your experience on our site is the best possible. Click here if you’d like to find out more about the types of cookies we use.
Accept and Close